We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner buffet was way better than a restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Waterfront Parkway, Wichita, KS 67206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Wichita
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Dinner buffet was way better than a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had never stayed at a Homewood before and we were immediately impressed by the excellent free dinner buffet including free beer & wine from 5-7pm. The dinner was better than any restaurant dinner that we've had in awhile, and breakfast was equally impressive. (For caffeine overload, just had to try the 4-flavors from the cappucino machine, and 8 different flavored syrups for the iced tea.)

Our king suite was a bit small, but the room and the entire hotel were new and very well decorated (like a 5-star hotel minus all the bell-boys). There were two flat screen TV's in the room, about 46" each. Staff was very friendly, especially the lady providing drinks in the restaurant.

Our only complaints were that the pool was temporarily closed, the bed was too soft (sunk in), and the air conditioner was very loud. The thermostat was guest-adjustable to almost any temperature. Shower water pressure was good, and the room came with at least 5 towels.

Brought my own secure wifi router that I connected to the in-room LAN and had no problems.

We took a nice walk around the lake (you may need mosquito spray) and borrowed a free DVD from the good recent selection in the hotel's library.

If Homewood management read this, I would suggest adding a covered front entry so guests don't get wet if it's raining while unloading baggage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    47
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
146
87
19
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Property was in excellent condition, staff was helpful, and the free breakfast was very good. The hotel is located close to many restaurants so you can walk to just about any kind of cuisine you could hope for. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a great property with wonderful staff but seams like we just have bad luck! Our little girls like the hotel better then Disney therefore we try to stay when possible on the way back to Dallas. They love spending time in the pool with Dad!

This weekend we booked a night heading back south as the girls were pretty excited. We got checked in and headed to the pool,,,,,the pool was closed with plywood over the windows and my 5 year old really starting crying. I fully get the need for maintenance and the staff offered YMCA pool passes after the fact a couple miles away which was a whipping. Would of thought appropriate for the staff to acknowledge at check-in verbally or via a sign as we wouldn't of stayed at the property. It's important to highlight that the staff sent up some waters, snack and 10% discount which was nice but didn't really mater as the brief overnight stay was just a big whipping heading to the YMCA at 8:00 p.m. vs jumping downstairs.

The previous time, the pool was open but the staff burned some toast setting up breakfast setting off the fire alarm at 4:45 am and we had to clear the facility for 30 minutes. I guess just bad luck as the staff and property are very nice.

We will stay there again to test the bad luck theory :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Its a beautiful hotel with an extremely friendly staff. I stayed on my birthday and woke up to discover that they had slipped a birthday card under my door and a dining coupon! And even though we totally over slept past check out time they didn't make a fuss like most hotels tend to do. The interior and grounds were gorgeous and my only complaint was that we only stayed one night! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed here at least 3 times a year for the past 3 years, as we come to Wichita to visit family and friends 3-5 times a year. The location is very nice and low-key, with no traffic noise and nice restaurants like PF Chang and Bonefish Grill just a short walk away. Plenty of free parking, and a nice breakfast included with your rate. During the week (M-Th) there are light suppers also offered as part of your room rate. The rooms are spacious and include full kitchens and room to eat and stretch out. The staff is always friendly and eager to help, and the large eating area is great during the day to visit with family/friends and play card games (our family does a lot of this). The workout facility is good and there is nice walking outside around the lake, etc.

The only downsides are that the rates keep increasing and good deals are hard to find unless you prepay the room well in advance - at least one month ahead. Plus the location on the far east side of Wichita means that you are a long way from the west side. Our new favorite hotel for short trips to Wichita is the Hyatt Regency downtown (see my review), but with big groups or long stays this hotel is still the best bet.

Room Tip: The 'larger King' rooms have a nice extra bit of room plus a sofa bed. Only 4 of these in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. We were greeted upon coming and going and the customer service just never stopped! Lyndsey at the front desk was very personable. The hotel itself was exceptionally clean, the breakfast buffet was wonderful and the king suite was perfect! Even our sheets smelled good. Everything was to perfection in our room. It was as if no one else had stayed there! That's exactly how all hotels should make us feel!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The suite was roomy enough that we had 8 guests in for wine, separate bedroom with a very well dressed king bed. We would definately stay here again and again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront

Address: 1550 Waterfront Parkway, Wichita, KS 67206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wichita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#1 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exquisitely-appointed accommodations among Wichita hotels at the Homewood Suites by Hilton at The Waterfront. Guests may choose from a wide array of options at the complimentary daily expanded breakfast buffet and enjoy complimentary dinner and drinks Monday through Thursday. Enjoy wine tastings and live jazz, offered onsite, or take a stroll to the shops and restaurants nearby at the Waterfront retail and dining complex. This lakeside property features a range of residential-style or Presidential suites with thoughtful amenities, including full kitchens, living areas, flat screen HDTVs and executive workstations. Reserve your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton @ The Waterfront Hotel Wichita
Homewood Suites Wichita
Homewood Wichita
Hilton Wichita
Wichita Homewood Suites
Wichita Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.