We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, excellent service, management policies...questionable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Wichita East at Plazzio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Wichita East at Plazzio to your Saves list
Residence Inn Wichita East at Plazzio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1212 North Greenwich, Wichita, KS 67206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Wichita
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great property, excellent service, management policies...questionable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Our triumphant return to the "Air Capital of the World" found us staying in this newly built franchised Residence Inn on the east side. Growing up during the boom days in Wichita, I remembered the frequent roar of military fighter jets and newly built planes taking off and landing. We were pleasantly surprised that even though the RI is adjacent to the Hawker Beechcraft and Flight Safety field, we would never know it. Even when BBQing poolside.

The location is excellent with plenty of restaurants and activities nearby, many within walking distance. The Palazzo even boasts a huge upscale modern arcade, bowling alley and movie theatre. This RI is pet friendly and has massive (football field sized) dog runs. Great to the let the pups unwind and expend energy after a long day on the road.

The rooms are like any remodeled or new Residence Inn. The overall physical plant is well maintained and clean. The staff is exceptional in friendliness and service. Mike Cahill, the overnight front desk agent is of particular note. He provided excellent service throughout our week here. Richard, the afternoon cook who puts on the evening soirée of wine and assorted light food fare is also personable and very attentive.

So, a few negatives. Internet is a problem. For some reason it is slow, and not compatible with anything Apple. This property does not use the Marriott system and it shows. We were here on pleasure. If I had to conduct business here, I would need to chose another hotel. Not good.

The incidentals deposit policy seems a bit extreme. We stayed for a week. We were charged room and tax for the week, then a pet fee, then in addition the equivalent of a week's room and tax as a deposit for incidentals we may use. Basically 200% of our total bill was charged/held. First, we would have to eat a lot of potato chips out of the sundry area to even come close to using what was taken as a deposit. Second, the release of the funds takes forever. We checked out 14 days ago as of this writing and the hold has not been released. I've already made two calls to the property to no avail.

So for a nice stay in a safe and new part of Wichita, this is great. If you are using a company credit card and can float the property for a couple of weeks, ok. If you are traveling on a limited budget beware-do not use your debit card. Need internet, best to keep looking.

Room Tip: stay away from room close to elevators if u have a dog with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
9
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Internet at this hotel is some of the worse I have experienced - and I travel a lot. I said something to the front desk and they replied they couldn't do anything if a guest was being a "bandwidth hog". I believe if your are going to offer Internet - offer Internet. One closet door was off the track and a drawer on the dresser would not stay closed. Very friendly staff - extremely friendly breakfast staff. Maid service - not so good. Did not clean our room - did not step in to even empty the trash.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goessel, ks
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The bed is INCREDIBLY comfortable, kitchen is perfectly stocked, staff is bed-over-backwards friendly, and the employee for the manager's reception (so sorry I can't remember is name!) is absolutely outstanding! I can't say enough great things about this hotel and will stay here any chance I have when in town.

The only downsides: outdoor pool only, there is some noise from rooms above

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

I have to say the reason why we stayed here for the last two weeks is because Richard, the dinner cook, and personality, is running the show in the evening. Richard doesn't have the personality of an incredible chef that's out of sight of the public. He has the uncanteed ability of a sessoned chef with the skills of a PR PROFESIONAL. Rick-n-roll Richard! Got nothin but love for ya... Do yo thang boy!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel has average residence inn rooms. It's hard to believe a hotel would not have a stand to hold your suitcase. I ended up using the couch to hold my suitcase for two nights. This kind of defeats the purpose of acing a room with a couch, etc. it would be nice to have hd channels on the tv. This wax quite a step down from the residence inn at the airport in Kansas City.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The entire week's stay was perfect. Sean, front desk, was very pleasant and attentive. He provided meeting room accommodations, without prior reservation, so that we could complete our work assignment timely. Richard, evening host, is friendly, professional, and attends to each guest individually. Richard ensured that we had a light dinner when we returned after working days. The room was spacious and very clean. Sheryl, front desk, was also very accommodating with our requests. This is definitely the hotel to stay while in Wichita.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have stayed twice at this hotel recently and it is very modern and well-appointed with large flat screen TV's etc. I was impressed with how spacious the rooms were and the full kitchen amenities. Every room is almost like a suite. A good deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Wichita East at Plazzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Wichita East at Plazzio

Address: 1212 North Greenwich, Wichita, KS 67206
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Wichita East at Plazzio 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Wichita East at Plazzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wichita East At Plazzio Hotel Wichita
Wichita Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Wichita East at Plazzio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.