We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and atmosphere but poor food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Canyon Grill

Red Rock Canyon Grill
1844 N Rock Rd, Wichita, KS 67206
(316) 636-1844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 882 restaurants in Wichita
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Andover, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location and atmosphere but poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I'm sorry to be writing this review but since I have previously reviewed this venue. Unfortunately our meal was overall disappointing. Two of the three entrees were below expectations. I had a steak that was suppose to be covered in blue cheese/ Gorgonzola. The steak was overcooked and very tough. The topping was like a LOW QUALITY slice of cheese melted by microwave on top. Very disappointing. My daughter ordered the MahiMahi which didn't seem very fresh and had a bottled pesto on top. Unfortunately our dessert was also lacking...it was a multi-layered chocolate, ice cream, cake offering that was to frozen to enjoy.

This is really disappointing because we frequent this restaurant and the atmosphere is very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    95
    43
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Meatloaf Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Red Rock is my favorite place to go in wichita. It has a great combination of wonderful food, atmosphere and service. Have never had a bad experience or meal here. The meatloaf is awesome particularly if you like it a bit spicy. It's made with ground beef tenderloin and pork sausage. Everything else is just as good from the steaks to the BBQ, the rotisserie chicken or e enchiladas.

Hands down my favorite place to go in wichita.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Get the Meatloaf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

You must go to Red Rock - but go early - they are very popular! The staff is outstanding and work on a buddy system so there is always someone checking on you. Great menu

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Food is Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Every time we go to Red Rock Canyon we remark how the food is always delicious. They really get it! My favorite dish is the salmon with "smashed" potatoes and always a wonderful,fresh vegetable. Their salads are great with crunchy, sweet pecans-yum! If you go with a large group, be prepared that the restaurant seems noisy and difficult to have conversation at a big table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really good food! I try to get here whenever I'm in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It surprised me that I liked this place so much. It has a bit of a "chain restaurant" air to it. Regardless whether it's part of a chain, I absolutely LOVE the food. Anything that has the smoky flavor that matches the wonderful smoky barbecue smell when you get close to the restaurant is something that I'll eat. I've had rotisserie chicken, a burger, and steaks on my visits there, and I've loved each of them. Only downside is that the place can get a little loud and boisterous, but it's just a function of popularity and people having a good time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rock Canyon Grill also viewed

 

Been to Red Rock Canyon Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock Canyon Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.