We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“and sandwiches and a great vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanya's Soup Kitchen

Tanya's Soup Kitchen
725 E Douglas Ave, Wichita, KS 67202-3505
(316) 267-5349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 915 Restaurants in Wichita
Restaurant details
Connecticut Yankee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“and sandwiches and a great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped at Tanya's for lunch--two of us with very different tastes in food: I eat seafood but not meat, and he eats anything! The menu was varied enough for both of us. This is not quite full service--you order and pay at the register and your food is brought to you. My shrimp and sweet potato soup was a revelation--absolutely delicious. The sandwiches were just as good. There are half-sandwich/soup options for those looking for a lighter meal (but my meal was so good I was really happy I had a full sandwich!). Friendly service and vibe and terrific food! Hit the Whole Donut across the street for locally roasted coffee and dessert (yes, donuts!) when you're through with your delicous lunch at Tanya's. Located a little ways down from the touristy Old Town area but well worth the short drive or walk down East Douglas!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just a bit pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, great menu, staff is attentive. The potato salad is wonderful.

A true variety of sophisticated flavors for the most discerning palate!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty Soup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you like soups, you have to try the flight of soups. Well worth $5.
I had a salad, and it was alright. I really enjoyed the soups, gave me a new perspective on ordering for next time.
My friend enjoyed the tomato soup, says it's one of the best in town!
Service was attentive!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good soup, even in summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have never had a bad bowl of soup at Tanya's. My favorite is the chicken curry with chutney. The sandwiches are also good. Get there before noon to avoid the lines of hungry downtown office workers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Living on her past reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Like most Wichitans, couldn't wait for Tanya's to re-open. After the initial glow of chowing on my favorites (potato salad, blueberry BBQ sauce) the last few trips yielded mixed, mediocre results. Including over-spiced soups, overtoasted sandwiches (really - you couldn't see the black char on the bread?) I just past right on by these days

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanya's Soup Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Tanya's Soup Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanya's Soup Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.