We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sedgwick County Zoo

Sedgwick County Zoo
5555 Zoo Blvd., Wichita, KS 67212
316-660-9453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Attractions in Wichita
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

No complaints. It was a terrific day... Recommended to all. If you bring your own cup, you can refill it for a buck.. VS paying 3-5 for their cup...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    78
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great zoo that is very easy to navigate. Definitely on par with some of the larger city zoos in the Midwest. Our two little kids (ages 2.5 and 15 months) saw a lot of animals and really enjoyed the penguin exhibit, rainforest, gorilla, and the monkey/chimpanzees. Children's Farm is very nice too. Admission is a tad bit pricey but I can accept that as long as they keep the zoo well maintained (which it is).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Wichita has one of the best zoos ever. I've been to it many times and it's always growing and getting better. Don't know why I was ever scared of it being built near our family home.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Family Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Zoo is one of my children's favorite stops. I've even taken my wife there for impromptu dates. While most of the Zoo is top notch, some of the older exhibits are in need of some updating (reptile area / rain forest). Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turon, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best zoo around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Not only is this a beautiful zoo, but it's a great day to spend the entire day! Many places to sit and rest and beautiful landscaping to enjoy! Very kid friendly and family oriented. We have been taking our kids there for years and now we are taking our grandaughter! We have always tried to make this an annual trip for our family and we all enjoy it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sedgwick County Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Sedgwick County Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedgwick County Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.