We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They always take good care of us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 East Kellogg, Wichita, KS 67202 (Formerly Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #38 of 81 Hotels in Wichita
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“They always take good care of us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Any time we go to Wichita we stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. The location is great for us and they always treat us well. The rooms are the small-average HI size and kept very clean. The staff is GREAT! They are quick to bring items you need to the room (I seem to forget something silly every trip) and always greet us with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for your comments and I am glad to see that you enjoy yourself everytime you stay with us as I do enjoy having our guests return time and time again. We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Wichita.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    44
    11
    16
See reviews for
28
31
14
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here one night while on a minor league baseball tour with kids and brother in law. This hotel is showing its age - cracks where the ceiling meets the wall are the biggest signs. Everything was clean and in good working order. Had a suite and it was spacious enough. Didn't eat in the restaurant - too late for dinner and wanted local diner for breakfast - found Riverside Cafe a couple of miles or so northwest. The outdoor pool was decent sized and refreshing after being at the baseball game only a mile or less away.

If you are needing an affordable place downtown for a night or two, this should do the trick, but I'm guessing there are other options around. It served our purpose for one night being very close to the baseball stadium. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. It was nice to see that you were able to enjoy our services and staff. We do also some some updates coming soon on our rooms and I think you well enjoy the feel when it is completed. Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know how your visit was and I do hope that you will choose us for your next visit to Wichita.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel was really pretty nice - unexpected, actually - and got our family to really start liking the Holiday Inn chain. The rooms were on the small side, but very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

A few things to note: The included Wi-Fi was very good; the street and traffic noise can make it a noisy stay; no breakfast is included as it is not an "Express" hotel, but a restaurant is on site; the pillow menu was somewhat unexpected for this class of hotel; the surrounding neighborhood is a little iffy, but we did not have any problems.

Overall, it was a very comfortable stay and I would feel confident in staying here again. The location is fairly good and close to downtown, but really would be better on the other side of the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I always enjoy getting feedback on a guests stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and do hope that when you return to Wichita you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

When checking in, "Ayla" asked me if I was a member of the priority club, or if I would like to join. Being in the military and doing quite a bit of traveling, I was sure I was, but hadn't used it in a long time so I didn't remember. Ayla, told me that she would try to find me in the system, and while eating dinner in the lounge an hour later, she found me, asked me several questions as to where else I had been stationed, and after another thirty minutes, found me in the system, filled out another card for me, let me know that I had enough points for a free nights stay, and thanked me for staying at the Holiday Inn. Great Job! I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The Flight Deck Restaurant food and service was excellant. Traves prepared perfect Rib Eye Steaks and we were served by Renee who was delightful and later served us again at the bar. Thanks again Renee.

For breakfast Todd cooked a wonderful meal and our Grand Kids got to eat free, and the service provided by Becky and Emily was excellant.

We look foreward to staying here again in the future.

Steve & Janean Mills from Kansas City, MO

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for your review I do enjoy reading everyone's comments. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the restaurant to such great care of you and we are looking forward to seeing you again for your next trip to Wichita.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I travel to the Wichita area at least once a month and I always stay at the Hoilday Inn, Wichita. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the service is excellent. In addition, the hotel restaurant has very good food at a reasonable price along with an attentive staff that includes Becky & Emily. The hotel bar, which is ran by Marcia, provides a relaxing atmosphere and has a wide variety of beer, wines and mixed drinks to choose from. It is definitely my home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing. I do appreciate you letting us know how your recent stay was. It is nice to see that the restaurant had taken such good care of you while you were here as well as Marsha always taking the time to make sure we have a great variety of options for everyone. I hope that on your next trip into Wichita you are able to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Have been staying quite a bit and have booked through September. Look forward to breakfast every morning with Becky and Emily as they are extremely pleasant and eager to make sure I enjoy my breakfast. It's great that they remember what I like. They greet everyone with a smile every day.

Room Tip: Like your room? Request it for next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown

Address: 221 East Kellogg, Wichita, KS 67202 (Formerly Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#26 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wichita Downtown - Convention Center is conveniently located near the Century II Convention Center, the museums on the river district, the future downtown Arena and the Old Town shopping and entertainment area. Our seven story, full service hotel services downtown Wichita, Kansas, and is located on the edge of downtown with the most convenient access to all the downtown Wichita hotels to the highway system leading to Wichita. We offer meeting space up to 125 people. A restaurant and lounge with room service, outdoor heated pool and spa and a 24 hour fitness center completes our recreational activities at our Wichita hotel.Each room has complimentary high speed Internet access, new Pillow Top Mattresses in June '07,work desk, refrigerator, microwave, closet, iron/ board, coffee and 2 telephones that cater to the professional business traveler. We offer a limited, complimentary shuttle service to Mid-Continent Airport. Major local and national companies are minutes away, including Cargill, Spirit AeroSystems, Coleman, Koch, Flight Safety, Boeing, Airbus, Cessna, Raytheon, and Beech Aircraft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown Hotel Wichita
Wichita Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.