We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here - Customer service sucks” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 East Kellogg, Wichita, KS 67202 (Formerly Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Wichita
Chanute, Kansas
1 review
“Don't Stay Here - Customer service sucks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Booked my room through an on-line booking service and paid for the room in advance. I have used this on-line service frequently and have never had an issue with them.

The hotel also decided to charge my credit card for the prepaid room even though they indicated that they needed it for any incidentals I may purchase. Tried to work with the hotel manager and she was extremely rude. Did not even offer to help resolve the issue between the Hotel and the on-line booking company.

I'll never book a motel there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
I was displeased to read your review as customer service is what my focus is on. I would have liked to had to opportunity to help resolve your billing issue as I do hope that it did get resolved you as well. I do hope that you would give a second chance so I can show you what a great experience you can have here. If there is any further assistance needed with any billing issues please feel free to contact me at anytime.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    44
    11
    16
See reviews for
30
31
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Stayed here for a major event weekend because we heard they were pet friendly. Checked in, got a decent price, put our stuff down and went to the event. When we returned the room was boiling and the AC wasn't working, which it was working fine when we first arrived to drop off our stuff. A call to the front desk at 10pm revealed that they have no maintenance on staff at night. The front desk was no help and basically said, sorry you'll have to deal with it. They refused to move me to a different room without a pricey upgrade, even though rooms were available and this was obviously THEIR fault. Almost left in the middle of the night as the room was about 85 degrees and we obviously could not open a window. I slept in the car half the night. In the morning the front desk was no better. They offered a free breakfast and wouldn't take off any money for the night. I demanded that a manager call me on Monday. They called on Wednesday and said "All our ACs are disabled until summer. Only the fans work." (which is a total lie as it was working and you can't disable the AC but leave the fan functional). When I told her that the AC was working, she said "oh, well it shouldn't have been." In the end they gave me 10 bucks off but refused to do anything else. The manager was curt, and acted put out that she even had to call me. I'll never stay at another Holiday Inn again. Rudest and least professional people ever.

Room Tip: Never use a Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Online I booked for a non-smoking room. When I arrived they didnt have my priority packet ready. They the ignorant lady up front placed me in one of their "value rooms" which was code for smoking rooms. I realized this and tried to get them to change, showed her my confirmation showing non-smoking but she had booked up all of them. She said she would refund the charges and I found another Holiday Inn Express clear across town. I later had to hound the, to reverse the charges....incompetent people bother me!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
I was disappointed to read your review. I do want all our guests to experience an enjoyable stay and not being able to meet your request for a non smoking room and then to not refund you according to what you were informed definatly isn't the standard I am looking at setting. I do apologize that your experience wasn't what you were hoping for and I do hope that when you do return to Wichita you can see your way to give us another chance to show you that your stay will be a great one.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I booked three rooms during the Christmas for myself and extended family. We had 11 family members and we all enjoyed the nice clean rooms. Our first night in the hotel we checked in around 3am. The desk agent allowed us to sit in the lobby together and chat. The other staff were always available for anything we needed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
I am glad to see that your enjoyed your stay with us. I was pleased to see that your family had time to enjoy each other and relax. I do look forward to your next visit here in Wichita with us.

Sincerely,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Hotel photos on the holidayinn website are out of date, lobby area has some new very comfortable leather furniture. Was in Wichita during a very hot period of the summer, hotel room airconditioner ran almost constantly at the temperature I had selected, but was very noisy, which was very annoying when it switched off every few minutes for about 15 seconds... Over and over again all night. This didnt' really bother me except for when I was trying to watch tv - constant volume adjustments. Amenities were fine. Bathroom towel rack had been broken, but they hadn't bothered to repair - suppose they will wait until it actually fully falls off the wall.

Would recommend if you are staying at a holiday inn class hotel, but its not a marriott or hyatt.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I apologize that you had experienced problems with your air conditioner and maintenence issues on the room. Our goal is to always make the guest stay as comfortable as possible and these issues have been addressed with maintenence so that we can assure that there is no future issues like you experience while staying with us. Again, thank you for your comments and I do apologize for the inconveniences during your stay.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, MO
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed here on business. The service at the front desk was great! The lobby looked clean and well kept. When we exited the elevator on the 2nd floor, the wall where the window was directly off the elevator was covered in mold. Once in my room I noticed a fairly large mold spot near the window. There was also a whole in the wall where the door opened and hit it over and over. In the bathroom there was an exposed fuse box. The housekeeping did a good job of cleaning the room overall. While I did not swim, overlooking the pool and hottub, they seem to be pretty dirty and in need of a new paint job. The trash cans and ashtrays on the hotel grounds to not get emptied daily and the occasional piece of trash gets left sitting on the ground for at least a couple of days. Overall, it was fine to sleep in, but I would never go for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the conditions that you had to see while you were here. Those had been addressed as our pool is now closed for the season and looking to do some refurbishing this spring. As for the mold issue that has been repaired and addressed. I am truly sorry for those conditions you witnessed as we do want our appearance to be something your remember as positive. Again I am truly sorry for the conditions and when you do return to Wichita you consider coming again and casee that improvements are important to us as well.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Near to the Baseball stadium, large sized room, nice and clean. Also has bar at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you for your comments its always a pleasure to hear about how your stay was and I am very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown

Address: 221 East Kellogg, Wichita, KS 67202 (Formerly Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Wichita
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#26 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wichita Downtown - Convention Center is conveniently located near the Century II Convention Center, the museums on the river district, the future downtown Arena and the Old Town shopping and entertainment area. Our seven story, full service hotel services downtown Wichita, Kansas, and is located on the edge of downtown with the most convenient access to all the downtown Wichita hotels to the highway system leading to Wichita. We offer meeting space up to 125 people. A restaurant and lounge with room service, outdoor heated pool and spa and a 24 hour fitness center completes our recreational activities at our Wichita hotel.Each room has complimentary high speed Internet access, new Pillow Top Mattresses in June '07,work desk, refrigerator, microwave, closet, iron/ board, coffee and 2 telephones that cater to the professional business traveler. We offer a limited, complimentary shuttle service to Mid-Continent Airport. Major local and national companies are minutes away, including Cargill, Spirit AeroSystems, Coleman, Koch, Flight Safety, Boeing, Airbus, Cessna, Raytheon, and Beech Aircraft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown Hotel Wichita
Wichita Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.