We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel At WaterWalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel At WaterWalk to your Saves list
Hotel At WaterWalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 S Main Street, Wichita, KS 67213 (Formerly Cambridge Suites Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Wichita
Tustin, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Great room - soaps/shampoo smelled great, the room was clean. I really enjoyed the breakfast. There was a really great selection for breakfast. Waffles, French toast, omelets, breakfast burritos, etc. Service was wonderful too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    48
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
79
14
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at WaterWalk this week during a business trip to Wichita, KS, and I highly recommend this property not only for a business traveler but also for families and for leisure!
My coworker and I were impressed with the cleanliness of the entire property, convenience to the downtown/convention center/museum district. The staff was warm and knowledgable not only of the property itself but also of the areas we needed to travel to in Wichita.
They have Happy Hour specials that change daily and include drink and food items, and we appreciated the fact that we didn't have to fight traffic and go somewhere else for supper. The next morning there was a full complimentary breakfast that even included staff making waffles and omelets as requested. There is a full laundry/fitness room right off the hotel lobby area. We both had a studio room that included a full kitchen, sitting area, and a huge walk-in closet area that would definately have pleased both of us if we would have needed to stay in Wichita for an extended length of time. There is also a small but clean pool and pool area that is gated along with a gate that closed about 6pm on the south end of the property.
If you visit the website, the pictures accurately reflect the room descriptions and we both thought it would be a property for families with children due to the amenities and convenience of the kitchen in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask before you book if there are specials or special rates, since we received an excellent rate for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I are retired and added a two night stay in Wichita after a two week stay with our daughter and family as the airfare was nearly the same price, she hadn't ever visited Kansas, and we wanted to add a few more frequent flyer miles on our way home. After booking our flights we looked for a hotel, found good reviews on tripadvisor, and booked "Hotel at WaterWalk" through United's website.

Where to start? Everything was great and as advertised. So start at the beginning:

The hotel's website offered complementary shuttle service, so we didn't rent a car. They were waiting and picked us up a minute after we called the hotel. Later the shuttle took us to Old Town were we got a salad, and it picked us up within 5-10 minutes after we called to return to the hotel. The next day the Hotel gave us complementary tickets to Old CowTown Museum, and to Botanica (gardens) that we used and others that we gave back as we didn't have time to use. Again the shuttle took us to both places, back to the hotel, and back to OldTown for BBQ. {Thanks to all 3 shuttle drivers}

The room was great! {more like an efficiency apartment complete with a full size refrigerator} You could live there for a month if you wanted... Breakfasts were also great with a cooked to order egg-white omelet on 9-11, and a special waffle the next morning. The lady doing the cooking also made us muffins to take on our flight which were really good - thanks!

We are retired, and are both still 50k+ mile fliers, so we spend quite a few nights in hotels while traveling and haven't ever found another hotel like this. While we weren't offered assistance with our bags either into the shuttle, or to our 2nd-floor room, but I'm positive that if we had asked, someone would have helped. This hotel could be your Kansas destination, and was a real bargain for us... :)

Thanks to all at H@WW.

P.S. - Don't miss the nightly fountain shows at 8 PM and 9 PM - they are a 20-minute music, light, and water show at Wichita's new 3-million dollar fountain on WaterWalk. It is just 2 blocks from the Hotel (near GanderMtn).

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Me and my husband stayed for 2 nights. Check in was easy and quick. We stayed in the king/queen loft and it was very nice. King bed upstairs w/bathroom, queen bed downstairs with bathroom, kitchen, and living room. We loved the convenience of having a cardio room and free laundry. The breakfast was amazing and the girl that cooked the waffles and omelettes was so sweet, despite some of the rudeness that she had to put up with. Tip your breakfast staff! The shuttle service was great too! We were dropped off downtown and picked up later when we were ready to go back to the hotel. We went to the Splash bar on Saturday night hoping to catch some karaoke. Love the lights and cheap specials. It's too bad more people don't come in for karaoke though. The staff were all amazing and accommodating. We will definitely be back with the kids next time.
Cons:
- water pressure in the showers was almost none
- loud ac units

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here Labor day weekend. Clean, lots of amenities, spacious loft, awesome full breakfast included in room rate. The pool was clean, had a nice compilation of piped music & bigger than the photos indicated. Front desk staff extremely helpful, professional & just plain nice!

Could have used a small stack of paper plates and plastic forks there in the kitchen for the stay (we bought them). To be fair, there was a note indicating that we could request plates & silverware, but we didn't want to bother anyone. Also, would have liked to play some CD's so if you go, DO bring your tunse set-up, as TV set up does not allow for that.

All 4 us were really impressed with the Hotel at Water Walk & would highly recommend it to others. A very nice value for the rate charged.

Room Tip: Can be a bit noisy by the highway, but that's the price you pay for the amazing location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel At WaterWalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel At WaterWalk

Address: 711 S Main Street, Wichita, KS 67213 (Formerly Cambridge Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#6 Family Hotel in Wichita
#8 Best Value Hotel in Wichita
#10 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel At WaterWalk 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at WaterWalk is conveniently located in downtown Wichita, KS, just blocks from Century II, Old Town Entertainment District, Intrust Bank Arena and countless museums and art galleries. This newly remodeled boutique hotel is refreshingly affordable and perfect for the business and leisure traveler. The Hotel at WaterWalk offers 88 beautifully spacious suites, each equipped with outstanding amenities you would expect at a luxury hotel, delivered with contemporary style and beauty. You are sure to experience the art of relaxation with the soothing colors, and a calm and peaceful atmosphere that will rejuvenate you spirit while capturing the essence of nature. When you stay at Hotel at WaterWalk, you will wake up every morning to a complimentary hot cook to order breakfast and free newspapers available in our Clubhouse. Spend your day relaxing by the outdoor pool, enjoying our picnic area with BBQ grills or utilizing our fitness center. With private entrances and park like atmosphere we are the perfect place for your pets as well. Join us in the evening to unwind at our full service bar. In addition to all of this, we also offer a business center, complimentary laundry facilities, free parking, grocery shopping service, and one of a kind customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel At WaterWalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wichita
Cambridge Hotel Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel At WaterWalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.