We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel At WaterWalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel At WaterWalk to your Saves list
Hotel At WaterWalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 S Main Street, Wichita, KS 67213 (Formerly Cambridge Suites Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Wichita
Perry, Kansas, United States
1 review
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are traveling with your family. The rooms were spacious and you can't go wrong with a kitchenette in the room. My daughter kept saying what a wonderful hotel it was and she is 15! You can check recent DVDs out to watch in the room, they have a shuttle van that we saw running downtown numerous times, we had a discount at the Italian restaurant we were eating at because we were staying here, etc.... My only suggestion is that they upgrade their coffee. I went to Starbucks every morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine711smain, Manager at Hotel At WaterWalk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so glad your whole family enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share the story of your stay with us. We take your suggestions to heart and will look to find some better coffee for your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    38
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
74
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

No better room for less than $100. Feels like a former Residence Inn that was converted to a more modern, but very cozy hotel. Staff, extremely friendly; free breakfast, well above par; free-wifi, fast; and happy hour at the bar, inexpensive and strong.

They also offer a free shuttle to local attractions/bars, which is great, because apparently the Wichita police are notorious for harsh DUI enforcement.

The only downsides were that the location is a little difficult to find and a slightly sketchy neighborhood. I'm also a little picky with my pillows and wasn't a fan of theirs. The bar area left a little to be desired; felt like more of a college dorm room but the drinks were generous.

The front desk gave me spectacular suggestions for local food joints and made an extra effort to insure my stay was pleasurable.

This is now my go-to hotel!

Room Tip: Though there are no elevators, I elected an upstairs room to avoid overhead noise. Though close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine711smain, Manager at Hotel At WaterWalk, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel At WaterWalk. We are glad you were able to enjoy the many amenities our hotel has to offer. Our staff appreciates that you took the time to notice their customer service. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a very modern styled hotel. I stayed here while visiting a sick relative at Via Christi hospital. It does open up to the outside as one reviewer mentioned which could be a safety concern if you are traveling alone. However, it is very roomy and spacious inside. It was also very quiet, due to the fact that you have fewer neighbors than you would in a regular hotel. I stayed in a one king room. There is a full kitchen with a walk-in closet. Everything was extremely clean. The breakfast was far above average due to the made-to-order omelets. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you will be staying more than one day, because it is more like an apartment than a hotel room.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and I heard no disturbances from neighbors. The first floor was nice for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine711smain, Manager at Hotel At WaterWalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel. We are glad our rooms were able to accommodate your needs for an extended stay. We hope to see you again should you return to Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a great place to stay!!! The staff were kind and genuinely happy to assist with our needs! We arrived late for our stay, check in was no problem. The on site breakfast is great tons of food and fruit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine711smain, Manager at Hotel At WaterWalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel over the weekend. The staff was very attentive, room comfortable and clean (the pillows are AWESOME!!). The room was exactly what I had expected from seeing the pictures, no surprises there. Bob the shuttle driver was wonderful, he knows a lot of the area's history and did a great job of getting us around safely. Breakfast the next morning was hot, tasty and had a wide variety of choices. We just did a quick getaway for my husband and I and it was perfect. Definitely request a room with a fireplace!

Room Tip: Go for the fireplace rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine711smain, Manager at Hotel At WaterWalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are so happy our staff was able to enhance your stay. Our guests are the most important part of our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to tell about your experience at our hotel as well as speaking about our staff. We hope you will use our hotel again the next time you want a quick getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Took a trip from Austin to Kansas City via Wichita and decided to stay at the Waterwalk, based on online reviews. So glad we did. The hotel room was awesome. It was more like a small apartment than a hotel room, with TV in living area and bedroom, large bathroom, kitchen with full size refrigerator and a conference table with connections for computers and chargers. A guest laundry was right across the parking lot from our room. We checked in late but the bar was still open so we stopped in for a bottle of wine to take back to the room - complete with two nice heavy wine glasses. The next morning we decided to try the complimentary breakfast before heading down the road and were pleasantly surprised. Not only was there a large buffet with every breakfast food imaginable, but also an omelet and waffle station for cooking to order. This hotel greatly exceeded our expectations and the cost was very reasonable - only slightly more than the sleep-cheap-chains. If you are going to be in Wichita, you would be crazy to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine711smain, Manager at Hotel At WaterWalk, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We are so glad we were able to accommodate your needs as you traveled through the area. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you travel through Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fabulous roomy accommodations with perfect beds and a staff that made customer service seem like natural behavior to them.
The most pleasant hotel stay I have ever had. Would love to have business in Wichita again for another stay at Hotel at River Walk.

Room Tip: You don't need any tips, the staff will take care of everythying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine711smain, Front Office Manager at Hotel At WaterWalk, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests are the most important part of our hotel and our staff strive to make each one feel special. We look forward to your visiting again should you ever return to Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel At WaterWalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel At WaterWalk

Address: 711 S Main Street, Wichita, KS 67213 (Formerly Cambridge Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#4 Family Hotel in Wichita
#11 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel At WaterWalk 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at WaterWalk is conveniently located in downtown Wichita, KS, just blocks from Century II, Old Town Entertainment District, Intrust Bank Arena and countless museums and art galleries. This newly remodeled boutique hotel is refreshingly affordable and perfect for the business and leisure traveler. The Hotel at WaterWalk offers 88 beautifully spacious suites, each equipped with outstanding amenities you would expect at a luxury hotel, delivered with contemporary style and beauty. You are sure to experience the art of relaxation with the soothing colors, and a calm and peaceful atmosphere that will rejuvenate you spirit while capturing the essence of nature. When you stay at Hotel at WaterWalk, you will wake up every morning to a complimentary hot cook to order breakfast and free newspapers available in our Clubhouse. Spend your day relaxing by the outdoor pool, enjoying our picnic area with BBQ grills or utilizing our fitness center. With private entrances and park like atmosphere we are the perfect place for your pets as well. Join us in the evening to unwind at our full service bar. In addition to all of this, we also offer a business center, complimentary laundry facilities, free parking, grocery shopping service, and one of a kind customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel At WaterWalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wichita
Cambridge Hotel Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel At WaterWalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.