We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Meditteranian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Maurice

Cafe Maurice
9747 East 21st St North, Wichita, KS 67206
(316) 425-5762
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 888 Restaurants in Wichita
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Meditteranian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Very good quality. Loud when full. Price point is HIGH. Equal or better Mediterranean establishments in Wichita with lower prices. Had the Beef Shawarma that had such a large portion of peppers and onions overbearing the small amount of beef that it should have been advertised as vegetable Shawarma with beef.

Mushroom soup was excellent. Equal parts onion and mushroom.

Service very good.

Not sure I will come back if I'm paying. Lunch beef Shawarma with bowl of mushroom soup and WATER for $18 is a bit much.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've been here several times, but the last time my daughter and I went and had a lovely lunch. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichtia, Ks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Favorite Place to Dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Café Maurice is absolutely our favorite place to dine in east Wichita. They offer flavors that aren't available anywhere else. All of their Mediterranean dishes are superb and the salads are the best in town. You might have to wait a bit but it is well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious, affordable French cooking in a suburban strip-mall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Staying one night in a motel not too far off the Interstate, I asked the desk clerk for a restaurant recommendation. I wasn't in the mood for what she recommended, so checked TripAdvisor for restaurants in the area. Cafe Maurice had potential, as the "5" reviews were based on the food, while the "non-5's" complained about speed of service. I've had a couple of good experiences with French cooking by non-French chefs, so gave this a try.

It's in a strip mall (but a new, clean one), and the interior was pleasant (and I've found some surprisingly good chef-owner places in strip mall settings). But the food -- fresh green salad with deliciously flavored oil dressing, perfectly sautéed Tilapia and mixed vegs, and a reasonably priced glass of white wine made for a meal in a restaurant I wish were in my own neighborhood. Service was prompt and pleasant. Those who deep-six this place for slow service perhaps didn't have the time to appreciate the quality of the food preparation. (The waitress apologized to me because they were out of the usually-complementary tiramasu!) IMHO it's worth waiting for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It's a café type place, where the food is great. I love the hummus! My husband had a wrap and it was very good took. Salads are the best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Maurice also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Maurice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.