We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northrock Suites

Save Saved
You added Northrock Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northrock Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7856 E. 36th Street North, Wichita, KS 67226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Managers Special- 15% off
Ranked #57 of 79 hotels in Wichita
SHELL KNOB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

After reading the other reviews I pretty much agree with them. The entrance is impressive, spacious and well decorated, the room was large but should have been arranged differently and somewhat dated. We had to call the front desk at 1am due to noisey neighbors, they said they would call and within 10 minutes the problem was resolved. If you make your hotel choice based on breakfast, this is where you needto stay. The best we have ever had at a hotel. Overall, would stay again.

Room Tip: If you want a double the bed are just double size not queens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast so much. And I'm glad we got the noisy guest issue fixed. If you call the front desk, we will do our best to keep noise and problems to a minimum. We also have security that walks the halls hourly that tries to keep up with any loud guest issues. Also, about your tip, please know that we DO have rooms with 2 queen beds. 36 rooms with 2 queen beds, and 29 rooms with 2 double beds. We typically charge $5 more for the 2 queen though. Thanks you and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
16
8
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McCook, Nebraska, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel was pretty easy on the budget, but there are some things they could improve on. The facility was clean and neat and the front end staff seemed pleasant upon check in. The decor and the rooms could stand an update though, as the lamps in the rooms were dated and needed replaced, the alarm clock had a short in it and shut off if moved just right, the dresser had nicks in the wood, and the carpet had some signs of wear. I wonder if they are planning to update soon? I think overall, the room was nice and comfortable, and well worth the stay. Thanks for an enjoyable trip.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows, as the ones in the rooms are a bit flat. The rooms are quiet; no traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I appreciate the kind words. We are constantly trying to update and improve our hotel. There are several areas in our budget for 2013 that we are planning on improving. Replacing some old furniture is on that list. I hope you told the front desk staff about the alarm radio, we have replacements available, and would have gladly gave you a new one that would have worked much better. Thank You, and we hope to see you again at Northrock Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We used to live in Wichita, have family here, so, we come to NorthRock a lot! And it rarely disappoints. Just today we asked for a little extra time to check out & it was okay with the front desk :) My husband loves the free breakfast, even though, like everybody, they've toned to down to economize. We find the front desk people helpful. We find the rooms as spacious as we need. The beds are good, even though I may have picked the wrong pillow last night :) It is well situated for all we usually do in our beloved Wicita, KS :) Bravo, NorthRock! P.S. Love the new easy chairs with Ottomans!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank You for your great review. We try to do everything we can to make your stay with use pleasant. We are continuing to update the property and have several improvements planned for 2013. And an FYI, when you come back please request a room with the chairs with ottomans, because these are not in every room! thanks again..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the stranger hotels I've stayed at in a while. The common areas (pool, breakfast area, lobby, etc) are really quite nice. But the rooms!... The design choices made here are just odd. They are spacious, and the place seemed to me to cater particularly to families with children. But you first walk into the room and flip on the light switch and a fluorescent ceiling fixture comes on. Not a CFL...and old fashioned fluorescent light that makes everything garish and ugly. Where there should have been the manual deadbolt lock on the door, all there was there was the four screw holes where it used to be mounted, until someone ripped it out of the wall. We had a room with two double beds (not queens, doubles) and despite the fact that the room had lots of floor space, they chose to position one of the beds so that one of them nearly blocked the entrance to the bathroom. Also, if you're much over six feet tall (I'm not) you may have a bit of trouble fitting into the shower.

Having said all this, this place really wasnt all that bad, just odd, with a lack of attention to detail. The place is clean. Kids will love the indoor/outdoor pool. The breakfast was pretty good. For example, they had hash browns that were really hash browns...not those pre-formed deep fried potato cakes you see in a lot of places. Also really high quality bacon.

I would stay here again, but I'd probably look to see what else is available first. With some attention to detail (and maintenance) and just a little money, this place could be very nice and a great deal.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank You for your response and input. We appreciate the positves you mentioned, and are continually working to improve the hotel with updates and remodeling. Please know that we do have alot of rooms with 2 queen beds, as well as double beds.(ask for a room with 2 queen beds on your next visit.) Some rooms are slightly smaller than others, which work better with 2 double beds than 2 queen beds. All rooms should have a manual deadbolt, we will double check all rooms to find any that are ripped off. Feel free in the future to tell the front desk staff about any issues you see with the room, and we will do our best to fix them. We hope to see you again...!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good place if you are looking to stay on a budget. Welcoming lobby to walk into. Rooms are just ok, one of our beds had a big stain on the sheets that couldn't have been missed when the sheets were put on the bed and there was an empty pop bottle left behind the nightstand. The TV in the room was small and in an odd location as was the setup in the room. The morning breakfast is above average with eggs, potatoes, and pancakes, etc. The location of the hotel is good, near many stores and restaurants and conveniently located off K-96. Not the place for a romantic getaway, but good if you are looking to save money and comfort isn't a huge priority!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were so pleased with this hotel! The lobby/common areas were nicely decorated and didn't seem like a "cheap" hotel & the whole place always smelled good (so much so that my whole family noticed it). The mattresses were slightly uncomfortable, but the room was much bigger than any other double queen room we've ever had. We requested a rollaway bed & although they didn't have one they did offer a high quality air bed at no charge. It was very comfortable & easily set up. Staff was friendly & helpful. Breakfast was way above average & free. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, biscuits & gravy & lots more. Indoor & outdoor pool, but indoor one was small. Fridge & modern TV & DVD player in room. Room didn't feel dated or old. Overall a great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmcgreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank You for your comments...we look forward to seeing you again..!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farlington, KS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times several years ago and decided to give it another try. Several problems with the hotel including lack of towels in the room and very restrictive pool access. We won't be staying here again!

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel there are many better than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northrock Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northrock Suites

Address: 7856 E. 36th Street North, Wichita, KS 67226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 79 hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northrock Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Northrock Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northrock Hotel Wichita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northrock Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.