We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Designed These Rooms?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northrock Suites

Save Saved
You added Northrock Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northrock Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7856 E. 36th Street North, Wichita, KS 67226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Managers Special- 15% off
Ranked #55 of 81 hotels in Wichita
Western New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Who Designed These Rooms?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the stranger hotels I've stayed at in a while. The common areas (pool, breakfast area, lobby, etc) are really quite nice. But the rooms!... The design choices made here are just odd. They are spacious, and the place seemed to me to cater particularly to families with children. But you first walk into the room and flip on the light switch and a fluorescent ceiling fixture comes on. Not a CFL...and old fashioned fluorescent light that makes everything garish and ugly. Where there should have been the manual deadbolt lock on the door, all there was there was the four screw holes where it used to be mounted, until someone ripped it out of the wall. We had a room with two double beds (not queens, doubles) and despite the fact that the room had lots of floor space, they chose to position one of the beds so that one of them nearly blocked the entrance to the bathroom. Also, if you're much over six feet tall (I'm not) you may have a bit of trouble fitting into the shower.

Having said all this, this place really wasnt all that bad, just odd, with a lack of attention to detail. The place is clean. Kids will love the indoor/outdoor pool. The breakfast was pretty good. For example, they had hash browns that were really hash browns...not those pre-formed deep fried potato cakes you see in a lot of places. Also really high quality bacon.

I would stay here again, but I'd probably look to see what else is available first. With some attention to detail (and maintenance) and just a little money, this place could be very nice and a great deal.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank You for your response and input. We appreciate the positves you mentioned, and are continually working to improve the hotel with updates and remodeling. Please know that we do have alot of rooms with 2 queen beds, as well as double beds.(ask for a room with 2 queen beds on your next visit.) Some rooms are slightly smaller than others, which work better with 2 double beds than 2 queen beds. All rooms should have a manual deadbolt, we will double check all rooms to find any that are ripped off. Feel free in the future to tell the front desk staff about any issues you see with the room, and we will do our best to fix them. We hope to see you again...!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
16
9
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liberal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good place if you are looking to stay on a budget. Welcoming lobby to walk into. Rooms are just ok, one of our beds had a big stain on the sheets that couldn't have been missed when the sheets were put on the bed and there was an empty pop bottle left behind the nightstand. The TV in the room was small and in an odd location as was the setup in the room. The morning breakfast is above average with eggs, potatoes, and pancakes, etc. The location of the hotel is good, near many stores and restaurants and conveniently located off K-96. Not the place for a romantic getaway, but good if you are looking to save money and comfort isn't a huge priority!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were so pleased with this hotel! The lobby/common areas were nicely decorated and didn't seem like a "cheap" hotel & the whole place always smelled good (so much so that my whole family noticed it). The mattresses were slightly uncomfortable, but the room was much bigger than any other double queen room we've ever had. We requested a rollaway bed & although they didn't have one they did offer a high quality air bed at no charge. It was very comfortable & easily set up. Staff was friendly & helpful. Breakfast was way above average & free. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, biscuits & gravy & lots more. Indoor & outdoor pool, but indoor one was small. Fridge & modern TV & DVD player in room. Room didn't feel dated or old. Overall a great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmcgreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank You for your comments...we look forward to seeing you again..!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farlington, KS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times several years ago and decided to give it another try. Several problems with the hotel including lack of towels in the room and very restrictive pool access. We won't be staying here again!

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel there are many better than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We needed a room fast because the place we had reserved prior to this was awful. This was a welcome change. The entry was nice, the reception we received was wonderful and informative. We needed 2 bedrooms so we had 2 adjoining rooms that shared a livingroom and it was exactly what we were looking for. We had the privacy of having separate bathrooms as well as bedrooms, but could come together with our cousins in the living room that had a TV, DVD player, refrigerator and microwave.
The rooms were hot when we arrived, but we turned on the AC and in no time at all, the room was quite cold. The decor was minimal, but we didn't care - we didn't rent a room for the beauty. The beds were adequate but will need replacing soon. The pool was nice and the children liked that you could swim through a canal to be inside or outside and enjoy the pool. Showers were excellent with great water pressure and the breakfast (free) was a wonderful end to our one night stay.
For the price that we paid for a family of 5 - 3 adults and 2 kids, it was well worth the money, especially when you consider the hot breakfast. I did read a negative review of this hotel that said there was no yogurt or fruit at breakfast, but that was not the case with us. It had all of that and more. Would certainly stay here again, especially with a large group!

Room Tip: Ask for late checkout so you don't have to compete with others. There is only one elevator, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank You for your positive review. Larger families like yours love our 2 bedroom suites! We hope to see you again!! And yes, we did add yogurt to the breakfast for people wanting a 'healthier' choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, OK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

As good a breakfast as you'll get in that price range (no restaurant). Room was clean, smelled good, and housekeeping did a great job over a 3 day period. Pool and hot tub looked fine, didn't use. Close (like walking distance) to Wal-Mart, QT and many shopping and eating places. Only issue I had was AC wasn't cold enough the first night (this was during a period of extreme heat). Told the front desk that morning before heading out and came back that evening to find an ice cold room. Guessing it just needed freon charging. The place is not brand new but overall I couldn't really find anything to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I travel for work and occasionally the customer reserves the hotel room. That was the case in both visits to Wichita although, honestly, I probably would have stayed at Northrock Suites anyway based upon the convenience of the location. They've gotten so many bad reviews...maybe I've just been a little lucky. My room was comfortable. I had no problems with the bed and my air conditioning was good. The bathroom was quite clean. Now, honestly, in the sliding door tracks for the closet, there were two 'fruit loops' as in the cereal. I was there 4 nights...they were there when I arrived and still there when I departed. You'd think SOMEONE would have discarded them. But, other than that, there were no problems with lack of cleanliness. The breakfast wasn't exactly what I had hoped for. There was no oatmeal and no fresh fruit. There was no yogurt until the last morning. I imagine the 'hot' items were fine...just not what I like. Overall, a long way from the best place I've stayed but about as far from the worst place as well. So I give it an 'average' and would stay there again for business...just would take my own fruit!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northrock Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northrock Suites

Address: 7856 E. 36th Street North, Wichita, KS 67226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 81 hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northrock Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Northrock Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northrock Hotel Wichita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northrock Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.