We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donut Whole

The Donut Whole
1720 E Douglas, Wichita, KS 67214
316-262-3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Bakeries in Wichita
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Donuts
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I visited for a baby shower, also again on my own. I really enjoyed the kitschy art and the general vibe. It was a little pricy for the donuts, and some flavors are better than others. Great for people who are trying to get some fancy donuts on the way to work!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Mostly good donuts--cute atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went twice on our visit to Wichita. My husband and I tried 10 different donuts between the two visits. Some were great, some were just so so. Some were dry, some were not. There are a lot to choose from, so if you don't like one, try another. Yes, they are pricier than a Dunkin Donuts. The people we encountered were very friendly and patient and let us ask a ton of questions about what was on each donut, because yes, they do have cutesie names that don't really tell you anything about what is on the donut. And they are different every day. What they have one day, they may not have the next day. If you like donuts, I think it's worth a stop in!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hadley rille
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Cliche tired hipster ambiance. Crappy donuts too!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thought this might be a nice coffeehouse with good donuts. Instead it was a dirty unfriendly joint with preciously cutesy named crappy tasting donuts. Wondered how it stayed in business. And did I mention overpriced? That too. While in Wichita give the sad place a wide berth....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Soooo over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had heard good things so we sought it out. Yuck. Asked for a fruit smoothy and it turned out to be fructose syrup....no real "fruit". The donuts were sugar overkill, not much depth of flavor. If you just want a sugar high....this is your place. I would much rather have a plain "hot and "fresh" glazed donut over the dense cakey, sugarfied flavors of this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You have to go inside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I know this place has a drive up window but do not use it. The charm of this place is not only in their unique flavor options but in the vintage feel of the decor inside. The maple bacon was my favorite by far as some of the other flavors were a little too sweet for me.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Donut Whole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donut Whole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.