We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming niche museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oz Museum

Oz Museum
511 Lincoln, Wamego, KS
866-458-8686
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Wamego
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses one of the largest private collections of Oz memorabilia in the world.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming niche museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'm not going to lie - there is certainly a cheesiness factor about the town of Wamego. However, the whole town has embraced Oz and made it their own.

The museum itself is charming. There is memorabilia of all kinds stemming from the books, plays, movies, and music inspired by Oz. While the museum doesn't have some of the interactive gadgets more well-funded public museums have, it does a great job of grouping pieces appropriately. I wouldn't say that it's a great place for small children, but kids old enough to read would certainly find enough to keep them entertained. Even if you're just passing through, be sure to stop and visit the shop, and compare your foot- and hand-prints with those of the munchkins' impressions just outside the museum.

The museum takes about an hour to visit - unless you stay to watch the whole movie - but there are a few other things in the town that contribute to the Oz experience. If you're lucky enough to be in the area in the fall, the museum hosts Oztoberfest - a quaint little street festival of costumed characters, wine-tasting, vendors, and autographs by actors/munchkins from the film.

I really enjoyed the Oz Museum. I wouldn't plan to make it my ultimate destination, but if you're in the area and looking for a charming distraction, the Oz Museum is the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    67
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Better for the big kid inside of you than your little kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A tiny museum with lots of fascinating memorabilia related to Wizard of Oz- It packs a lot of punch for its small size.

Visiting family in Manhattan, Ks. Stopped here on the spur of the moment after other plans did not work out for the day. This is not a far drive - a very easy 10-15min tops - if you happen to be in the Manhattan, KS area.

My 4yo was in awe the moment she stepped in side. She felt confident this was the area that Dorothy lived. They have these full scale scene replicas featuring each of the major characters. Between them are glass cases with small artifacts and memorbilia with their typed explanations. Decorations reminscent of the movie are all around you - hot air balloons hanging from the ceiling to handprints from munchkin cast members in the floor. There was even a small movie theater that had the original movie running on a continuous loop. You can see the official death certificate for the Wicked Witch of the East. You cant help but smile as you walk through and read all of the history.... that is unless you had a active two-year old with you...

Yes this place will cause your inner child to jump for joy, but smaller kids will be frustrated and find it diffcult to keep their hands off of everything. ALL the brightly colored Oz items- are not to be touched! And that is for good reason. But for something that evokes so many childhood memories, I wished it had some areas that were child friendly. Maybe a model of Dorothy's House/ munchkin land that the kids could run and play in? My two year old felt tempted to slide open every glass case, but who can blame her? Everything was so dazzling to the eyes, Most of my time was spent wrestling her hands away from everything in there. I would not reccomend bringing active kids. Take them to the playground first - then stop here when the wiggles are out.

My children loved the wind tunnel machine and making their own souvenir penny with penny press. I was a little disappointed by the lack of unique souvenirs that said " Oz museum and Wamego, KS". Most ( because of licensing reasons) just had Wizard of Oz and characters on them. I felt I could get them from anywhere off of the internet. But I left with the never-fail magnet and was pleased. Yes, you can get the DVD version of the Wizard of Oz ( $25). We even purchased the DVD version of the "The Wiz" while there.

Park you car directly outside for free. And, although the museum was small and accessible to all, I would bring the stroller to strap down the little ones as the area is not conducive to running or touching. Best to just keep them in the stroller the entire time.

Wished we saved time for lunch and windowshopping the cute shops next door. Lots of Dorothy and Oz insipired window decorations which would be a nice way to cap off a beautiful day at the museum.

Another tip for the Oz Museum: Bring your AAA card- you get a discount on the entrance fee. I would definitely reccomend it to all. Unique, must do stop in Kansas, for all kids big and small.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a great way to stretch your legs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We made the Oz museum our destination for the day during a road trip. I was pleasantly surprised at the work that has gone into the museum. I would totally recommend. We took our 2 small children, who also loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

So much to see--movie clips, memorabilia, the famous bk in different languages, etc. An enjoyable visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun sidetrip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We wanted to see this while traveling through Kansas. It was a fun little stop to snap pictures and if time, read all the info. We unfortunately had under an hour before they closed so we rushed through. A lot of memorabilia is at the museum. The gift shop was a good place to pick up some souvenirs. The staff was friendly and helpful with points of interest in town. We took a walk down the yellow brick road to the park on the other side. There is a community pool right there if your children wanted to swim. It's a nice park with big oak trees. The museum is only 9 miles right off 70 on a beautiful scenic highway. $7 for adults but they offer several discounts, AAA, military,students with ID. You can even sit and watch THE WIZARD OF OZ in their theater room.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oz Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oz Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oz Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.