We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barley's Brewhaus

Barley's Brewhaus
16649 Midland Dr, Shawnee, KS 66217-3042
913-268-5160
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 106 Restaurants in Shawnee
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Plantersville, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Lunch was excellent and the wait staff was friendly and attentive. Great selection of beer and would like to return for Happy Hour. Not your usual bar food- Reuben sandwich was great. Fried pickles (I am a self-professed expert on a mission to discover the best on the planet) are in the top ten

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Great beer selection, staff A+, food just OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Killer beer menu makes this a great spot to visit and have a few pops. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Food was OK, not bad or good just OK. 2 out of 3 ain't bad I guess. Could walk to the place from the Hampton Inn so it is very convenient for any business travelers staying there.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawnee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistent taste-bud pleasing food; vast & tempting beer selection"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Whether entertaining an out of town business associate, or feeding a starving family on a Saturday night...Barley's Brewhouse casual dining is tough to beat. Nothing fancy...just great food at moderate prices -- most entries under $20. And with more than 50 beers (maybe more) on tap, quenching your thirst is easy. A few of the regular-menu entrees score high in our book, including the fillet, pan-fried trout, hickory-grilled chicken, and any of the flat-bread specialties or pizza (Don Corleon is a winner.) . And in a town known for its BBQ, we would choose Barley's ribs over 98% of the rib joints in KC. When you add in a staff that actually knows the meaning of service, it's no wonder Barley's is our favorite Shawnee restaurant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Enjoyed the beer and atmosphere several times. If you're there in the late afternoon, be sure to ask about any beer specials...the wait staff doesn't always inform you about them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

The atmosphere is just like the rest, noisy and lets see who we can pick up at the bar.

BBBBOOOOOORRRRIINNNG!

First, I must say the bar wait staff is great. Attentive, conversational, and fun!

The food. Well it is just another burger joint.

I talked to the manager since I wanted ribs, fish, and grilled vege's. Not on the menu. I got ribs that were tender, but not smoked. Boring at best. The fish, they asked me about rare to well done for the salmon, it was well over cooked.

The asparagus was grilled to perfection, the broc was steamed and again boring.

GREAT BEER selection.

GREAT WAIT STAFF!

Same old SH!$ for food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley's Brewhaus also viewed

 

Been to Barley's Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barley's Brewhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.