We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Hotel on the Prairie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   201 East Diamond Drive, Salina, KS 67401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Salina
somewhere in nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Little Hotel on the Prairie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an older LQ, possibly a reincarnation of some other brand. The rooms were comfortable and clean, although not as big as the 1st LQ we stayed in near St Louis during this trip. Check in was friendly and prompt. As with other hotels on this trip, being pet friendly was a must, and this seemed to be a top choice among the few pet friendly hotels available in the Salina area. There were more guests with pets at this hotel than at any other we stayed in during this trip. The hotel has a well maintained grassy area for dogs with clean up supplies and a wastebasket located, perhaps not coincidentally, opposite a Super-8 motel that's across the street.

We arrived early, so I was able to get in a few laps at the hotel's indoor pool by myself. The pool is decent sized and thankfully wasn't over chlorinated. From what I've seen in recent reviews, the pool's been closed for repairs. Hopefully, they'll get that fixed soon.

The location is convenient, right off of I-70, but the hotel itself is oddly wedged in on a narrow strip of land. There's a large McDonalds and a truck stop opposite the front parking lot.
Just behind the hotel and to the north were manufacturing plants, and truck lots. Beyond the plants is just an endless expanse of Kansas farmland and prairie. In fairness though,
except for the occasional tractor trailer, there didn't seem to be much activity in the plants at night.
Aside from some other hotels, fast food joints and gas station/c-stores, there's not much nearby. Fortunately, downtown Salina is just a few miles south and has a decent variety of restaurants.

By this point in our journey, I was getting tired of hotel breakfast buffets, so I'll just they rounded up the usual suspects and leave it at that.

All in all, it's a good hotel for a night. If I were traveling through this area again with a pet, it'd be my 1st choice. Otherwise, for the price we paid, I'd give some of the other hotels in the area equal consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    105
    43
    19
    7
See reviews for
127
61
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Pros : Reasonably good breakfast. Examples : the usual microwave sausage/microwave Omelette fare. Cereal for the kids. Some pastries. Some fresh fruit. Juice coffee water milk yogurt all available Overall a pretty good included breakfast better than average for this type of hotel. Front desk staff courteous. Clean room. Close to highway. Cable TV with multiple channels.

Cons : Pool closed. Shower water pressure weak. Refrigerator did not have a freezer section. Icemaker did not work on our floor. Wireless connection was hit and miss.

Overall: adequate hotel; nothing to rave about but did the job for a night stay. Probably a touch above the usual look La Quinta experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Over priced for the area & offerings, but was clean & our room was decent. This LQ is directly beside a large truck stop & I-70. No curb appeal & after a long days drive you feel a tinge of disappointment when you pull in. Surprisingly you cannot hear either the truck stop or freeway from your room. If you are tired of driving there is a subway,McDonald's,Starbucks & Wendy's right by the hotel. Breakfast is reminiscent of a hungry man TV dinner but is nicely displayed & looked after.
**A BIG disappointment for us was that the hotel pool was closed & drained. No mention of this was made on the website, nor was I notified when making an online reservation days before, I received no email and was not told upon check in. That to us is poor service & communication.
Every LQ seems to be different but the one thing that keeps us coming is the terrific pet policy. Fortunately many other chains are now becoming more pet friendly opening options.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Upon arrival our front desk attendant was helpful, proficient, and friendly. She was also proud to agree to my positive surprise as I noticed the IMPRESSIVE breakfast menu to come for the following morning.

LQ has had a recent re-branding across their entire chain, and some of them are obviously a polish on top of an older construction. That isn't necessarily always bad.

Front area foyer was quite attentive to needs of road weary travelers or families. There was actually a small sundries-store type situation, free fresh popcorn for my kids, an impressive breakfast menu to look forward to.

ROOM:

I get suites when I stay at LQ. Metal contacts such as sinks, door handles, bath contacts, etc were cleaned poorly. They either were obviously and visually covered in cleaning solution, the last visitor's bodily fluids, or both. I don't want that want ambiguity.

Otherwise cleanliness was generally pleasing.

ELEVATOR:

I didn't enjoy the carpeted walls. It encouraged a claustrophobic feeling and made guests foreign to one another uncomfortable.

We will stay here again on our annual trip.

Room Tip: They seem to all be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a pleasant stay in a clean reasonably new LQ very near Interstate 70, we weren't bothered by highway or truck stop noise in our room. A large jar of dog treats is kept by the front desk. Our dogs appreciated them after a long day's drive Price is a little higher than some LQ's so I used my LQ points to make the night very affordable. Friendly staff and very clean room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nothing really special but certainly nothing wrong with it. North side of town off the highway. Others complained in reviews of truck noise - we noticed none. It is pet friendly with a 'rest area' outside and treats at the front desk. Breakfast was better than usual for La Quinta with more choices and good bacon. If you are in the area, it is a good hotel at a good price. Next to McDonald's for those who care.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina

Address: 201 East Diamond Drive, Salina, KS 67401
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salina
#10 Business Hotel in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina Hotel Salina
La Quinta Inn And Suites Salina
Holiday Inn Express Salina
Holiday Inn Salina
Salina Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.