We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ambassador wouldn't put his wait staff here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Salina Ambassador Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Salina Ambassador Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Salina Ambassador Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 W Crawford St, Salina, KS 67401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Salina
Wamego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An Ambassador wouldn't put his wait staff here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Started out with clean sheets and pillow cases but the comforters were filthy. Stains on both sides on both beds. Wash cloths and towels were yellow and stained as well. The heavy curtains that are for privacy, looked like had wine stains on them. If your brave and have a strong stomach, go ahead and look behind fridge, TV stand and under desk. They have not been cleaned behind in some time. Off to the pool we go. Where it isn't dirty, no one knows. The stairs up the slide were very dirty and even had moss growing on a couple of them. Yes, moss! Green! The traction mats around pool haven't been cleaned under for a long time. Very dirty underneath. You can see right thru them to the dirt. Paint in pool area chipped everywhere you look. We were there for meetings and the meals were horrible. Our beef brisket was 1/2" thick, dry, tough chunks of roast.
And bottom of enchiladas were so hard couldn't cut with a knife. If you go in the bar there, the wait staff is not good either. Had to track down waitress at least once an hour to get a refill and took over an hour to get a kids pizza that is supposed to take 8 minutes. I will not return!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    12
    19
    27
See reviews for
27
3
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was home away from home especially with traveling with 3 small children and was just stopping through for rest. Room was nice and clean along with the hotel. Front desk helpful and polite. Pricing was prefect for my budget, would most definitely stay there again and refer to friends and family traveling through.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The board rooms and conference center are nice and large. They do have large pool area. Though the breakfast wasn't very good and it was very stuffy in the hotel if there wasn't a conference there we wouldn't have stayed here the rooms were clean but also stuffy

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I traveled from Ohio to pick up our son for the holidays, and found this hotel to be very nice, in spite of the previous negative reviews. We found the hotel to be clean, warm and pleasant. Yes the hotel is a little dated, but we did not find it to be as bad as other reviewers stated. The beds were very comfortable and we were able to get a very good night sleep.The staff was very pleasant. We are returning to Salinas to bring our son back and will be booking another night here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

x-mas shopping all day, was tired and ready for a drink, also had my dog with me so decided to spend the night, big mistake, should of sucked it up and drove 2 hrs home. this place is literally falling apart, room had weird smell, too hot to sleep, advertised 39.00 rooms, well that turned into 49 plus charged me 25 for my daschound. over 80 bucks for a dump. wont happen again

Room Tip: none good luck if you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The service was good; the staff were ambitious and busy. I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the room, noting cut hair on the bathroom floor and a pink stain on the bathtub which I wondered what it was.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I am sitting in my room as I type as part of a larger group - so I didn't have a choice and was a little frightened to stay here after seeing all the reviews.

Well - they are correct!!!!

Tired, old, dirty, sad..

Even the kinds of things the staff can control look awful! The fitted sheet on my bed is put on inside out. The bedskirts look like they were stored in a wad and then put on the beds - a touch of an iron would have gone a long way. The lamp shades are tilted, the big over-the-door lock is missing, the bathroom looks like something from an old college dorm with the sad little plug hanging out in the bathtub by a wire.

The interior of the "conference center" is dark tonight...and I wonder why. Makes it odd to walk to your room.

Drinks were overpriced at the bar. No table service at all - and this place is big! I would have ordered some food but no one even offered to bring a menu to us. The karaoke singers (more like the hosts since hardly anyone was singing) were so loud you couldn't talk to anyone.

Room Tip: Interior. The hallways on the "exterior" smell like smoke. Also, the door leading out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salina Ambassador Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salina Ambassador Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1616 W Crawford St, Salina, KS 67401
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salina Ambassador Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salina Ambassador Hotel & Conference Center is centrally located in the State of Kansas. 1 mile from I135 North & South & 2 miles from I70 East and West. We have 192 sleeping rooms with 145' Water Slide, Work out room, Hot tub, Complimentray Breakfast from 6:30Am to 10 AM. O'Malley's Bar and Grill open for dinner at 5PM Sunday through Friday and Saturdays 12PM to close. Will be undergoing major renovations soon. All sleeping rooms will be redone entirely. Installation of a Water Park and Tiki Bar. A full service restaurant and lounge. Additional meeting space to our already 9,000 sq. ft. Additional Family & Executive Suites and exterior changes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Salina Ambassador Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Salina
Salina Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salina Ambassador Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.