We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is no longer a Ramada” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Salina Ambassador Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Salina Ambassador Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salina Ambassador Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 West Crawford St., Salina, KS 67401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Salina
Ellicott City
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“This hotel is no longer a Ramada”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I arrived and found out my Ramada Reservation was now at a Ambassador Hotel. This place needs and is going through a renovation. Stay somewhere else until it is done. They have a indoor pool off the lobby. The humidity turns to mold enough said. My room the floor was wet because they just cleaned the carpets and there was no place for the moisture to go! Dark lighting helps hide the biscuits and gravy for breakfast. Coffee is free and available all day and the staff wants to do the right thing and they work hard. This is not a people issue it is a management issue

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    9
    15
    19
See reviews for
24
3
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was traveling through the area, I found this hotel on a major street and booked a room based on the price on the flashing sign. I checked in and was given a room across the courtyard from the pool and restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable, but the restaurant was closed at 5:00 pm. The garbage cans near the rear entrance was overflowing. the cans appeared to have been full for an extended period due to the smell.

Room Tip: Get a second level or higher room near the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

rooms smell (had to buy candles for rooms just to be able to stand odor) half the a/c's don't work deadbolt on door was broken shower was just nasty advertised sauna does not work no air at all in the workout room you could not pay me enough to get in the pool there...............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was a little surprised about so many bad reviews about this place. I stayed here with my elderly father and we were both very satisfied. The room was clean and comfortable with a friendly staff. The location is okay. It's close to the freeway but not a lot of restuarant selections. They have a nice lounge at this motel though. The only thing we could see room for improvement on was the breakfast. It wasn't bad but somewhat basic as you have to pay to get some different food items (like bacon or other hot food). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stopped in for the night. The first room we were given the door wouldn't open. Our next attempt the room was a lot nicer than we were expecting. They are fixing the roof and that was annoying but we were warned in advance. The ice machine was next to impossible to find. However, the staff was friendly and helpful and we generally enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atchison, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Dirty & disgusting. Our room smelled like mold. The was black mold in the shower. Bed, linens & towels were stained & dirty. There were unsafe outlets, one hanging out of the wall. There is disgusting stuff on the walls. They didn't come to freshen the room & change the towels. The toilet didn't flush. When we called to ask for a manager to come so we could show the our issues with the room, after almost two hours they hadn't come though we'd called repeatedly. When we finally talked to the night auditor, she was very rude. Although they did move us eventually, the new room was eqully disgusting. More mold, dirty comforters, and urine all over the toilet seat. The ceiling I'm the bathroom was wet & moldy. This is ridiculous.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Someone had big hopes and dreams when this hotel was built, but it's a lot of hotel to maintain. Unfortunately, the pool in the cavernous open space in the middle of the hotel has dampened everything in the hotel. My friend left a shirt on the floor of our room and in the morning it was damp. I hate to give such a poor review, because the support staff were such lovely people. I slept well, but I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Cross your fingers and hope for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salina Ambassador Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salina Ambassador Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1616 West Crawford St., Salina, KS 67401
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salina Ambassador Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Salina Ambassador Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Salina
Salina Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salina Ambassador Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.