We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1846 North 9th Street, Salina, KS 67401 (Formerly Mid-America Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Salina
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adequate for a budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just needed a place to sleep on a return trip from Colorado. The location is being updated or so we were told. On the sign it advertised flat screen tv's and new beds, but that was only on the bottom floor. When we got to our room, the sofa was missing as advertised. The front desk woman was very gracious and moved us to a new room. The room was clean and quiet, but the air conditioner was very noisy. The breakfast was adequate, but room was hot. The price was right and compatible to a Motel 6 or Super 8.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
9
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The ammenities did not mention the night club located in front of the hotel. The music was booming until midnight then the drunks decided to get a room next to us with two strippers who stood out in front of our window talking at 3am and smoking cigarettes. The smoke was sucked into the room by the A/C so our room smelled like an ash tray. The drunks were revving engines, blowing horns and squealing tires all night. Otherwise, it would have been a good room. It was clean and had everything we needed.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The person that checked me in is from California like I am ;). Great person and great conversation. I went to several hotels in the area and decided on this one because of the great service, variety of amenities (mainly the indoor pool) and the value of hotel was comparable to motel 6. For Salina Kansas... This hotel works ;)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Went to 'AMValue' and they were very rude, so I left, Lucky me.
Went next to the Rodeway Inn. Lovely room, staff was congenial and most helpful.
It is right off an I-70 exit so 'easy on' in the morning.
Next time I am going down I-70 past Salina I will be staying at the Rodeway Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here based on the reviews and comparative costs with nearby hotels. Other reviews are on the mark about first appearances and the closed businesses in front of the place.

Night clerk was a little crusty, but eventually warmed up and was very helpful after I persisted in being friendly towards him. He honored the best online rates we found and our request to have a ground-level floor with no one above us.

The room was a surprise--in a good way. It was quite large even with a king bed, recliner, desk, chairs, dresser/TV and a small table. Kids could actually have a tumbling area to roughhouse a bit and not break anything.

The sink area was separate from the bathroom and large with room to hang clothes, set a suitcase and plenty of counter space. The bathroom was also fairly sizeable, with plenty of towels, washcloths, etc. Bathroom had a sunlamp, which is a nice warmer after a shower. Water pressure was good, though you'd occassionally get a hot or cold splash, presumably when someone in another room flushed or turned on their shower. A little annoying but not a deal killer.

Carpet, walls, paint, furnishing, etc were all in great condition; not new, but well cared for, and the room was clean. The bed was actually fairly soft as far as hotels are concerned, and they offer plenty of good, fluffy pillows, so we slept comfortably. As with many hotels, the outside door didn't seal that well, so noise from people walking by and cars in the lot near the room were heard plainly, but the hotel is off the highway far enough that road noise wasn't an issue.

Breakfast was a little disappointing as others have mentioned--just some basic fare with no fresh fruit, and not a lot of it. Even the night clerk told us to "get here early because it gets cleaned out pretty fast." My wife made a good point--if they know it regularly gets cleaned out fast, why not offer a little more to be sure all your guests actually get to eat something? In any case, there was hot coffee and plenty of it, and the reviews had forewarned us, so we didn't complain.

All told, it's a decent value when compared to surrounding hotels, but a few minor upgrades would make it noteworthy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south end as far from the highway and check-in office as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rodeway in Salina, KS on April 27, 2013. I recognized that it has been converted from some other motel company, but it was surprisingly nice. The carpet in the large room had been replaced. You could tell that it was an older building, but the electrical system must have been upgraded as there were pluggins for computers and cell phone chargers. The breakfast area was large and clean. It could have used yogurt and some fruit and the sausage and gravy was somewhat runny. The front desk staff was very polite and helpful. Top notch!! We were unable to get a refrigerator but the staff allowed us to put our food that needed a fridge into the one in the office. The next morning, we had our ice packs and chilled food.

It appears dated, but do not let that scare you from staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I chose to stay at this Rodeway Inn because they were listed in the guide of a prominent travel agency. From the road, the property appears that its best days are behind it, with the Bombay Club and an old Texaco station in front of the property closed. However the guest rooms themselves are in really good shape, most likely recently remodeled. There are many places nearby to eat, even more if you go into the town of Salina. The continental breakfast featured a wide selection, including waffles and biscuits and gravy. Some areas for improvement include the following: First, the water valve in the bathtub was confusing to figure out how to adjust, possibly it was at one time broken and just patched back together. Also, when I went to check out in the morning, the older desk clerk was unable to print out a receipt, and asked that I come back in ten minutes. I returned in around ten minutes, and he was still trying to track down someone who could/knew how to print the receipt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1846 North 9th Street, Salina, KS 67401 (Formerly Mid-America Inn)
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mid-America Hotel Salina
Best Western Salina
Salina Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.