We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2403 S 9th St, Salina, KS 67401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Salina
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is about as plain as the come now days. Staff was friendly, hotel was clean, shower was hot and nice pressure (don't you hate when the water barely comes out). However, the young lady that checked me in (late at night, around midnight) told me that a breakfast was served from 6-9. When I left the next morning, the breakfast was no where to be found. The room, which is adjacent to the front desk, was still dark, and no signs of the breakfast... Ah well..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    10
    4
    18
See reviews for
14
11
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Americas Best Value Inn in Salina has one of the few outdoor pools in town -- refreshing on a summer's day. The rooms at this older establishment (a relic from Howard Johsons heyday) have been nicely renovated, are reasonably clean and come at an affordable price. A modest continental breakfast is provided and pets are allowed. Shopping is close by as well as several restaurants. In short, good for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

While searching for rooms for four workers for 2 weeks in Salina I came across this motel because it was cheap. After disregarding reviews about the rude owner/manager I booked them anyway. Upon arrival it appeared to be filthy and the manager insisted that I pay the entire 2 weeks in advance with no refund or adjustments. When I said I was uncomfortable with that agreement He became extremely rude and got in my face about how he doesn't work for charity. I believe he knew that few customers would stay more than a single night let alone 2 weeks. Better bring your own clean sheets.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Unable to understand the staff. Thankfully they find allow my dog. I was thankful it was by places to go for entertainment and food. Not bad on price either. And it was clean. Plus I am thankful for the lock boxes they had in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, MO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nothing fancy about this motel, but for one night it was OK. The clerk was extremely friendly and helpful. The room had a musty smell so we lit a candle to cover it. The bed was comfortable. The motel was close to several restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The young lady at the counter was friendly but the owner had an attitude problem. We were not allowed to view the room prior to registering due to state law. The furniture was old, light in color with the decoration of crayon by some aspiring young artist. The carpet was dirty and there were two spiders. We asked to have the room changed and we were accommodated. My husband forgot to return to original room key and the owner called to inquire. I apologized and told her that I would bring it to her. She said she would come to get it. When she arrived, she had a nasty look on her face and asked about the spiders (their location, etc.) because she checked and could not find them. Her attitude and tone were far from pleasant. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Rooms were updated and staff was very helpful. The location is great as it is close to restaurants and shopping centers. The outside of the hotel needed some work but once you got into the room it was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2403 S 9th St, Salina, KS 67401
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.