We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   745 W. Schilling Road, Salina, KS 67401 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Salina
Denton, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great hotel, nice staff, warm room, good breakfast. Pretty much what you expect from this level of hotel. It's a great stop on your way to Denver on I-70, because there's not much in between the two hotel-wise. There are plenty of restaurants across the highway, as this area has really built up in recent years. It is an older hotel that's been renovated, but they did a great job with it. Act soon, and you might still get a "grand opening" discount!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlus745, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear USAFTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, we greatly value the opinion of our guests! It is wonderful to hear that our hotel was an enjoyable stop on your journey. I appreciate your acknowledgement of our new property and hope you choose to stay with us during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    66
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
89
54
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Russell, Kansas, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked our stay online and was pleastanly surprised with the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and room and the overall fun my family had on our stay, the children truly enjooyed the slide with the pool and the "real" breakfast! Will definately be returning and staying at this hotel again!!! And yes the pillows are the best! I have to ask for extra at each place we stay at and this is the first time I have not had to ask for extras, thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlus745, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear La Shionna L,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, we greatly value the opinion of our guests! I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time staying at our hotel! We strive to achieve the best in comfort as well as customer service, and truly hope we have met (and exceeded!) your needs. We look forward to seeing you in the future! And yes, we are thrilled to hear that our pillows are "the best"!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I thought our room was very comfortable. I loved all the pillows. The business office had a computer for travelers, so I kept up with my messages. The staff was wonderful, and they always had coffee available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlus745, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mary J,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, we greatly value the opinion of our guests! I am pleased to hear that our hotel provided not only comfort, but convenience. We are very proud of the staff and services we have to offer, and are glad we could accommodate your needs. We hope you choose to stay with us on any future trips to Salina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

When we checked into our rooms, my first reaction was, "The nicest hotel on the trip, and we're barely going to be here!" We were just traveling thru, and in fact, made the reservation from the car on the highway, en route to Salina, and based on the Trip Advisor recommendations! We didn't arrive until 11:30 pm, but they were very friendly and accomodating, and very smooth check-in. Rooms were beautiful, and everything very clean and new. Beds were comfy and bathrooms nice too.
Breakfast was more than enough to fill us up for our full day of travel ahead. Just wish we had had more time to enjoy the stay! Would recommend to anyone - especially the value - best price we paid on our whole trip too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlus745, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear perleytraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, we greatly value the opinion of our guests! We are very pleased that we made such a great impression on you and your friends! Regardless of the time spent in our hotel, we strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. From the rooms to the breakfast, we are glad we could meet your needs at a fair price. We can't wait to have you stay with us again--hopefully for a longer stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cozad nebraska
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We chose the Best Western Plus for four reasons. First, we were traveling with pets and needed a hotel that would welcome them. Second, we were visiting grandchildren and wanted a pool for them to enjoy. Third, I really like having a fridge and microwave in my room. Forth, this was the best deal for the money and had great TripAdvisor reviews.
This hotel satisfied all four needs and more. The staff was great, the room was clean and lovely, the pool was terrific! In addition, this hotel is close to lots of places to eat and shop and easy to find. Breakfast included all the things you get at higher priced hotels. All things considered, the best in class for Salina. I would agree with another reviewer that the pillows were not the best. Very hard. The beds were great though.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor away from the road and still heard some road noise. Not too bad though consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this Best Western in January for 1 night. The front desk staff was friendly when we arrived and very accommodating. The room was pretty basic, but clean. The towels were nice and soft and large by hotel standards. The bed and pillows were not very comfortable and we woke up with stiff necks and sore backs. The real problem with the hotel was the very, very thin walls. Our room was next to the elevator, and there was a fair amount of noise from that all night long. We could hear conversations in the room next door and they weren't speaking loud at all. We heard doors slamming all night all over the hotel. We heard kids crying and screaming and dogs barking all the way down the hall. Neither my daughter or I slept more than a couple hours. It was horrible! The breakfast was a little substandard, but it was ok with the standard two hot items, waffles, toast, bagels, cereal, etc. The best part of the hotel was the pool. It was warm and had a fun slide. My 6 year old was in heaven! We had reservations to stay here on the way back home, but we cancelled them because the noise just wasn't something we could stand again.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My extended family booked eight rooms in mid-December, 2012, in order to attend my mother's funeral in Salina. My immediate family stayed for three nights in multiple rooms. The friendly front desk staff quickly checked me in, and did their best to co-locate as many of us as possible. They opened the breakfast room for us one evening so that we could gather and eat delivered meals.

This BW-Plus had just been re-opened after having been entirely refurbished -- and it showed. The facility seemed entirely new and spotless. My room was thoroughly clean. The mattress and pillows were just right. The lounge chair was very comfortable for working on my iPad and for watching the new LCD HD television, I liked being able to hang things in a closet with a door. My grand-nieces enjoyed the indoor pool, but found the water to be a bit chilly. The hotel is located near the mall and many restaurants, just off I-35 (it backs up to a quiet neighborhood).

I will stay at this hotel again - for happier occasions, and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGMSalina, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
we would like to extend our sympathy to you and your family again. It was our pleasure to be of service to you in your time of need, We sincerely hope you will visit us again in Happier times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites

Address: 745 W. Schilling Road, Salina, KS 67401 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salina
#1 Business Hotel in Salina
#2 Family Hotel in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover America's heartland like you never have before. Clean, spacious and affordable, make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites your next traveling destination.Located just five miles from historic downtown Salina, you will enjoy being just minutes away from attractions and events such as the Smoky Hill River Festival, Kenwood Cove, The Bicentennial Center, The Steifel Theatre and even one of the eight wonders of Kansas Cuisine, The Cozy Inn. While downtown, take in a stage performance at the Salina Community Theatre or venture a few minutes further and enjoy wine tasting at the Smoky Hill Vineyard and Winery.Recreational and sports seekers will enjoy recreational areas like the Bill Burke Sports Complex with baseball diamonds, soccer fields and batting cages. Disc golf tournaments can be found just minutes away at Lakewood Park. Go hiking along the trails of Indian Rock Park or play a round of golf at one of our many courses. Once back at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, unwind by taking a trip down our waterslide that leads to our indoor heated pool or cool down in our fitness area. Corporate guests will enjoy taking advantage of our business center, free faxes and local calling. Our spacious work desks and unlimited free Internet usage via Wi-Fi or hardwire makes working away from the office or home as comfortable as possible.Guests will sleep well in one of our spacious rooms or suites complete with pillow top mattresses, 42-inch LCD televisions, coffee makers, upgraded bathroom amenities, refrigerator and microwave. Wake up in the morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with meat, eggs, waffles, fresh fruit and yogurt.Whether you're in town for work, or play, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites is here for you. Our friendly, energetic staff is ready to accommodate you so make a reservation today.Like us on facebook, our info is BestwesternSalina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel Salina
Baymont Inn Salina
Salina Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.