We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   745 W. Schilling Road, Salina, KS 67401 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Salina
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this Best Western in January for 1 night. The front desk staff was friendly when we arrived and very accommodating. The room was pretty basic, but clean. The towels were nice and soft and large by hotel standards. The bed and pillows were not very comfortable and we woke up with stiff necks and sore backs. The real problem with the hotel was the very, very thin walls. Our room was next to the elevator, and there was a fair amount of noise from that all night long. We could hear conversations in the room next door and they weren't speaking loud at all. We heard doors slamming all night all over the hotel. We heard kids crying and screaming and dogs barking all the way down the hall. Neither my daughter or I slept more than a couple hours. It was horrible! The breakfast was a little substandard, but it was ok with the standard two hot items, waffles, toast, bagels, cereal, etc. The best part of the hotel was the pool. It was warm and had a fun slide. My 6 year old was in heaven! We had reservations to stay here on the way back home, but we cancelled them because the noise just wasn't something we could stand again.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    65
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
88
53
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My extended family booked eight rooms in mid-December, 2012, in order to attend my mother's funeral in Salina. My immediate family stayed for three nights in multiple rooms. The friendly front desk staff quickly checked me in, and did their best to co-locate as many of us as possible. They opened the breakfast room for us one evening so that we could gather and eat delivered meals.

This BW-Plus had just been re-opened after having been entirely refurbished -- and it showed. The facility seemed entirely new and spotless. My room was thoroughly clean. The mattress and pillows were just right. The lounge chair was very comfortable for working on my iPad and for watching the new LCD HD television, I liked being able to hang things in a closet with a door. My grand-nieces enjoyed the indoor pool, but found the water to be a bit chilly. The hotel is located near the mall and many restaurants, just off I-35 (it backs up to a quiet neighborhood).

I will stay at this hotel again - for happier occasions, and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGMSalina, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
we would like to extend our sympathy to you and your family again. It was our pleasure to be of service to you in your time of need, We sincerely hope you will visit us again in Happier times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudora, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The pool was the key feature having a water slide. Although, you could smell the chlorine it was not clear and you could rub with your finger the green slime off the pool wall. For such an awesome feature it was neglected. The pool area was also cold but once you got in the water was warm. Our king bed was horrible, couldn't get comfortable tossed and turned, maybe too soft of a bed or that it had no support, mine and husband back hurt. Breakfast is good, better than continential. Eggs are real, the rest is like normal frozen-mirowave. Waffle maker a hot spot and good syrup. No Biscuits and Gravy like the one in Festus, MO. No bananas, had activia brand yogurt-yuck, only fiber type cereals that kids don't like either. Fitness center looked nice and our room was clean. They do put a heavy cheap coffee table in front of the sleeper sofa so when pushing it out of way, the supports between one of the legs fell out. Put that back together. Would love to stay again next month, just have to weigh the pros and cons, and if the pool gets cleaned properly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGMSalina, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your bed . They are double pillow top mattresses and we have had alot of compliments on them. We do serve the fresh scrambled eggs and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. Being a New hotel we are always interested in our customers feedback so that we can continue to grow and improve, We do hope to see you next time you are in Salina,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmer, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The staff was exceptional and the facility has just been redone. The rooms are large and comfortable in every way. It is also close to area restaurants and a new Olive Garden is being built around the corner. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel was just fine in every aspect. Looks like they make you type more in this spot, so I am going to fill the space. Legends Sports Bar and The Blind Hog are 2 good "Watering Holes" in Salina if you are looking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff are very nice and met my special requests regarding physical handicap needs. Will definitely be staying at this Best Western in the future. Also had a late addition in the need to bring along two small dogs. No problems there either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed here while on a roadtrip across the great plains. We had a second floor room and it was very spacious, with two queen beds and then a fold-out sofa bed in a separate section. Bedding was with duvets, not motel quilts. A key attraction for us was the pool with water slide. Our kids enjoyed it very much.

We actually had a problem with the room --- the smoke alarm kept beeping every few minutes. When we called the front desk, the manager came up and fixed it within 5 minutes. In that interaction, as well as requests for extra towels, and breakfast, I was very impressed with the service we received --- really excellent and made the whole stay more enjoyable.

This is not a 5-star hotel, but for the cost, and the property, we had a 5-star experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites

Address: 745 W. Schilling Road, Salina, KS 67401 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salina
#2 Family Hotel in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover America's heartland like you never have before. Clean, spacious and affordable, make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites your next traveling destination.Located just five miles from historic downtown Salina, you will enjoy being just minutes away from attractions and events such as the Smoky Hill River Festival, Kenwood Cove, The Bicentennial Center, The Steifel Theatre and even one of the eight wonders of Kansas Cuisine, The Cozy Inn. While downtown, take in a stage performance at the Salina Community Theatre or venture a few minutes further and enjoy wine tasting at the Smoky Hill Vineyard and Winery.Recreational and sports seekers will enjoy recreational areas like the Bill Burke Sports Complex with baseball diamonds, soccer fields and batting cages. Disc golf tournaments can be found just minutes away at Lakewood Park. Go hiking along the trails of Indian Rock Park or play a round of golf at one of our many courses. Once back at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, unwind by taking a trip down our waterslide that leads to our indoor heated pool or cool down in our fitness area. Corporate guests will enjoy taking advantage of our business center, free faxes and local calling. Our spacious work desks and unlimited free Internet usage via Wi-Fi or hardwire makes working away from the office or home as comfortable as possible.Guests will sleep well in one of our spacious rooms or suites complete with pillow top mattresses, 42-inch LCD televisions, coffee makers, upgraded bathroom amenities, refrigerator and microwave. Wake up in the morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with meat, eggs, waffles, fresh fruit and yogurt.Whether you're in town for work, or play, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites is here for you. Our friendly, energetic staff is ready to accommodate you so make a reservation today.Like us on facebook, our info is BestwesternSalina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel Salina
Baymont Inn Salina
Salina Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.