We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners keep working on it…a GREAT value...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Inn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Best Inn Motel to your Saves list
Best Inn Motel
1220 West North Street, Salina, KS KS 67401   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Salina
Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Owners keep working on it…a GREAT value...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Second visit…this time the lighting had been upgraded from a bare bulb to very nice recessed lighting…very clean, nice new fridge and microwave.
The fabric softener/detergent/room deodorizer smell was overpowering maybe because we were in a pet room… we had to sleep w/window open and the smell still permeated my clothes and was cloying…Our room had an oddly colored dark brown newly painted wall and bathtub still needs updating…But the owners continue to work on the inside of the rooms and for under $40, it's a very very good value, very clean, and much much nicer than the outside would have you believe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
12
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The inside looks much better than the outside. The rooms are fresh and clean, nice bedding. With all they spent on the refurbishment and all the furnishings, you would think there would have been $5 left for a light fixture on the ceiling. And maybe another $5 for a lamp. The only real downside was that the room had a connector door to the next room. The door did not fit well and is a period (1950's) wood door. The people in the next room couldn't figure out how to turn the tv sound down or OFF. Not terrible, but annoying. We stacked the comforter from the bed against the door to muffle the sound. I'd stay there again, just make sure there is not a connecting room.

Room Tip: Make sure there is not a connecting room, connecting doors do not fit tight and are not soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The only drawback I can really think of is the lack of outlets and lighting in the room we stayed as well as only a push lock on the doorknob. Otherwise, it is well worth the trek (for the price) away from the interstate. Trains did go by during the night, but it wasn't loud enough to disturb my sleep.

The bed was VERY comfortable as were the pillows. Seriously- the pillows were awesome. We stayed in a King room. Everything was clean and it was obviously recently renovated. There was no cover to the overhead bulb and no lamps/nightstands next to the bed. So, if someone is in bed, the only light is from overhead or the bathroom.

Overall, it was definitely a great night's rest and the low price shouldn't scare you away.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This little hotel is family run and it was really clean and neat. Only complaint was the shower is minuscule and needs updating. For the price this really is a good night's sleep in clean surroundings. The staff was very very nice and it was close to the downtown eateries too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I wasn't expecting much for a motel that charged $35/night, but the room was much nicer than expected. The furnishings were more than adequate, with a large bed, tv, fridge, dresser and couch. The bathroom was clean. The woman who greeted us at the front desk was friendly.

The only complaint was the thin walls. Our neighbors got in late and stayed up late -- making lots of noise. We could hear every word of their conversation, as well as what they were watching on tv. It kept us up for a few hours - this was after a long drive that day and another long drive the next night. However, overall for the price, it was still an ok deal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without someone next to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a mom without pop establishment. The manager Angela uses her underage kids (maybe 8 yr old daughter and 14 year old boy) to do work around her motel like answering phone calls and taking messages while she is away from the front desk. I thought this was unprofessional behavior since in one of my night's stay there several hours went by without her contacting me back in regards to room service that was not done. The vanity sink did not drain appropriately in my stay there. Also the housekeeping was average to poor which was done by angela. The first night i asked for a late wake up call so she still decides to knock on my door. Unfortunately there wasn't a "do not disturb sign" to hang on the door.

It's weird that they have updated furniture, t.v., bathroom, carpet, beddings, etc. but they provide low level of service. There is no logic here. They spend money for the room but provide low level of customer service.

I would recommend another motel based on the housekeeping and customer service problems with the owner of the establishment.

Room Tip: Based on the poor customer service i received from the owner i would recommend another motel. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It took me awhile to find it and even some locals didn't know of the place...it's rather in an out of the way place in Salina.

The family that runs the motel was wonderful. Even their 14 year old son was a sweetie. The room looked very clean and freshly done. It wasn't my style but was comfortable with lots of natural light which helped because my only real complaint was the lighting. When I walked in there was only the ceiling light with a low wattage spiral bulb. Now this puts a creepy look to the whole place and if I hadn't read the reviews and had not met the family and had not seen the overall cleanliness to the place this could have been a deal breaker. I immediately called the desk and asked for a table lamp and was brought one...it was a bit on the small side but worked for a reading lamp. There was no coffee in the whole place and no ice.

But the tv was a flat screen and there was a fridge and microwave. Plus the ac worked well and the bed was comfortable. The pillows were a bit weird feeling like small chunks of foam. But for a tight budget this worked fine. I would strongly recommend that they put two lights on the two night stands available. It would have improved things a lot.

Room Tip: I believe that each room is different...each room having it's own style. I wished I had asked i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Inn Motel

Address: 1220 West North Street, Salina, KS KS 67401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.