We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HO JO Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 E Diamond Drive, Salina, KS 67401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Salina
Burlington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“HO JO Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a quiet and restful stay with a filling breakfast in the morning. When taveling on I-70 in the future we will remember this Howard Johnson motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
My name is Elizabeth Bell, One of the new Managers here at the Howard Johnson Inn Salina. I'd like to thank you for your review and glad you had a restful stay. Breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day so I'm glad you had a good one to start your day. We look forward to seeing you again on your travels. Thank you aaain for you review they are very important to make sure we're keeping our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    27
    22
    18
See reviews for
46
20
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LEXINGTON
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great Value! Great Staff! Great place to spend a few hours to rest on a business trip! Some items in the room seemed out dated( TV, refrigerator) the toilet and shower areas were a little cramped. A little TLC on grout and caulk would help there too! The condemned motel behind the hotel was questionable. The bed was great and I slept well. I will be in the area again and will choose to stay there again when I am!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hello, my name is Elizabeth Bell and I am one of the new manager's here at Howard Johnson Inn Salina. We thank you very much for your comments. As for the outdated items we are working on changing that in the near future. As for the caulking around the tub, we are at this time, taking that all out and putting new in, in all of our rooms. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again for your comments they help us be a better place for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel room was very roomy, though no fridge as advertised on the Wyndham website. Location seems a little run down with a derelict motel next door. Breakfast was the usual motel disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I am glad that you stayed with us, but am sorry tht the Breakfast was not up to your liking. I would love to hear your ideas as to how we can increase it and make it better. I know the building next door isn't the best to look at, but it is ours and is consistanly patroled by the loal police. They are in the long term process of deciding what to do with it. It needs 3 times the work as this building needed. I hope you will return to our hotel. Thank you for your response it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This truly was my worst hotel experience. I have stayed at hotels on five continents and generally a “shoe-string” traveler. However, my past experiences did not prepare me for the Howard Johnson Inn in Salina, Kansas. I was shocked and dismayed to have such a bad experience from a well- known hotel chain in the heart of the United States.
My son and I checked in without incident in the afternoon and we were looking forward to relaxing and cooling off in the motel’s pool after a long day’s drive. We were given our room cards and drove around to our room. Upon entering the room, we were immediately assaulted by a tremendously offensive odor that permeated the entire room. Leaving the hotel room door open and turning on the room’s a/c we attempted to ventilate the room and get some fresh air. After a few minutes, it was evident that the terrible odor was not dissipating. I went to the front desk and expressed my concern. Upon hearing my complaint, the individual behind the desk stated that if the smell did not go away, that “later”, they would spray something. I explained that I did not think a spray would remedy the problem. I left the front desk surprised that no one was sent to even check the room.
My son and I decided to go for a swim, hoping that the a/c would circulate some of the bad air out of the room while we were gone. We quickly changed and walked to the pool. Upon entering the pool gate, I slipped on a patch of green slime. At this point, I assessed the pool and pool area. It was evident that the area was not maintained, but the pool appeared clean. Before I entered the pool, my son had jumped in and immediately informed me that there was a layer of crud on the bottom of the pool. I honestly thought that he was joking and jumped in to the pool. Upon doing this, a cloud of sediment surrounded me. To put in one word: GROSS. We left the pool disgusted and returned to our room to find that the terrible odor within was still pervasive.
While my son took a shower, I hung some freshly cleaned and pressed shirts in the room and started to prepare for my shower. In the room, in front of the sink I discovered a large dark stain on the carpet about 18” in circumference. The stain appeared to have been a part of the carpet for a long time. I did not expect a four-star hotel, but this was really ridiculous. After my son had finished in the shower, I entered the bathroom. As I went to put my towel on the towel rack, the bar fell off the wall.
After my shower, my son presented me with several articles of women’s jewelry that hen had found throughout the room. We assumed an earlier guest had left them in the room.
We left the room for dinner and stopped by the front desk to again register our concern about the terrible odor and drop off the jewelry. The individual behind the desk took the jewelry and related that, “Apparently, housekeeping had not done their job.” He also stated that since we had turned on the a/c , it should take care of the problem.
Upon returning to our room after dinner, we were again assaulted by the terrible odor within the room. Tired and exhausted, we went to bed vowing to leave in the morning as soon as we could. Unfortunately, the assault on our senses continued. Both my son and I were taken aback to find dirt/sand between the sheets at the feet of our bed. Apparently, housekeeping had not done their job…
The next morning we were out of the room early. A medical emergency at the front desk prevented me from complaining for a third time. Days later, I went to wear one of the freshly cleaned and pressed shirts that I had hung in the hotel room. Upon putting the shirt on, I choked at the smell. The shirt had picked up the terrible odor from the room!
Later, I completed and submitted a survey of my hotel experience and was very honest our experience. I got a reply. It said that they were sorry. I couldn’t agree more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I am the new Manager of this hotel and extremely upset abut how bad your experience was with us. We would have checked the room immediately and if there wasn't anything could be done right then and there we would have moved you right away. As for the pool, I hve no idea whatt the previous manager did or didn't do so its hard to comment on that. But i am sorry that that occurred. We hope that you will come back sometime and see the changes that we have made in the hotel (for the better). Thank you for your comments, and again please except my sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed overnight one night in Salina. The room was alright...bigger than most but with nothing fancy. The shower pressure was nice! The shower curtain had a red stain at the bottom that seriously looked like blood...it was quite creepy. The location was also somewhat strange with a huge abandoned building right next door with doors and windows boarded up. Didn't feel entirely safe, but everything turned out okay.

Another thing, we went down for breakfast at about 8:00am and it was completely dead. It was one of the worst breakfasts I have ever seen! They didn't have a very good selection, the milk and coffee were both out, and there were flies buzzing around so we just decided to skip breakfast and move on with our trip.

Overall, would I stay there again if I had to...possibly, but I wouldn't want to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I thank you for your comments, they help us bring attention to problems. We are the new managers of the hotel and do apologize for your inconvienence. The abandon building is secured and we have had no problems with it. We have it monitored by ourselves and the local police. We have made changes in the hotel, for the better, I believe so if your ever in the area I do hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This Howard Johnson's has gone down hill. Used to be better. I would not stay there again. Check in and out were very slow and area was very unkept. The room was below average and needed a general painting. However, the bed and shower were great and food was above average. but not great enough to make up for the other problems.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hello, I am Elizabeth Bell, one of the new managers of the hotel. I'm sorry your stay was not a pleasant one. If your ever in the area, please come back and stay with us. I think you will find the hotel has been cleaned up and the service is definately better.

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This place was very nice, the staff friendly and helpful. the price was great (as opposed to the Super8 next door). thank you again. no problem with the room, and the breakfast was really nice.

Room Tip: This place was very nice, staff very friendly and helpful (as opposed to the Super8 next door) the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We encourage people to write review to let us know how we are doing and what need to be improved. We are please that you enjoyed you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas

Address: 222 E Diamond Drive, Salina, KS 67401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated. Free local calls. Quick access to I-70. Pets allowed with a 10 USD charge per pet. Complimentary continental breakfast along with Hot waffles. Free parking. 24 hour Front Desk. RV or truck parking. Television with HBO, CNN and ESPN. Refrigerators available upon request. Whether for business or pleasure, Howard Johnson Inn Salina, Kansas can meet all your needs with our 52 spacious guest rooms that offer: Amenities• Free high speed internet access• All guest rooms equipped with hair dryer, clock radios, in room safes, iron and ironing board and in room coffee.• 27" TV and expanded premium movie channel• Sol Terre shower experience includes a curved shower rod for more elbow room, six function shower head and Sol Terre premium bath amenities• Free USA Today newspaper• Free continental Breakfast along with Hot waffles• Kids under 12 stay free• Outdoor pool• Truck parking• Jacuzzi suite available• Play ground area for children of all ages. Extended stays welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.