We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellborn Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wellborn Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Wellborn Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sahil Mahallesi Cevher Dudayev Caddesi 53, Basiskele 41000, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Basiskele
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had my mother's 90th birthday party at Wellborn back in September of 2013. We were about 25 people and the dinner, the live music, the service and the ambiance were great. After the party, we all stayed at the hotel since most people were pretty drunk including my mom. My kudos and many thanks to the hotel staff from the ladies who organized the party to the waiters , and the chefs. Hope to come back one day and stay again for a few nights.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the bay of Izmit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellbornLuxuryHotel, Ön Büro Müdürü at Wellborn Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Novaman33,

Your thoughtful and positive comments are truly heartwarming. I have to also tell you that we were very much inspired of your 90 years old mother and your family reunion birthday dinner with us. The entire team goes above and beyond to put genuine care and special attention into how they serve, and they all will be so encouraged by your kind remarks.

I hope we can expect you and your great family for another reunion, maybe for 91st birthday party of your mother.

Yours faithfully,

Saldiray Sen
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
5
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just stayed there last week. The hotel is amazing and the staff are incredible. Very nice. This is a beautiful hotel with incredible views of the bay. The front desk staff are very nice and can call you a taxi if needed (taxis show up in no time). I was there to visit family members in Izmit.

Positives...
-The room I stayed at was ultra quiet and very comfortable. The only thing I would improve would be to have more English TV channels available (especially a movie channel in English). There was only one (France news). But if you are not there to watch TV, then this doesn't matter.

-Don's miss the daily breakfast buffet. Fresh orange juice is served while there is also sour cherry juice and mango juice also available.

-Make sure you make a visit to the 5th floor dining room. On certain days, they have a live band. I tried the lamb shish kebobs and they were great. The views of the bay are really nice from the 5th floor.

Other considerations...

Izmit is really nice, A small town with lots of interesting shops and restaurants. You may go shopping in Istanbul, but at the end you may find the same thing in Izmit at a lower price.

The taxi fare back and forth to Izmit can add up quickly. So consider the taxi fare. Would be nice if the hotel actually offered a complementary shuttle ride to Izmit and back.

The taxi fares are negotiable. If you are planing to go to Istanbul, contacting the local taxi company can cost around 360 Liras, The taxi drivers will give a rate from 250 to 300 Liras. Still expensive. The best way and cheapest way to go to Istanbul is vias the bust in Izmit that will take you to Haram. The fair is only 16 Liras!!! and they will even server you coffee or water for that. Once in Haram, catch the beautiful huge ferry boat to Istanbul for 3 Liras!!! Catching the Ferry boat and enjoying the views was probably one of the nicer attractions by itself. That's it!!! For 19 Liras (plus the fare from Wellborne to the bus station, around 25 Liras), you can go to Istanbul. Amazing. From there, catch a cab to anywhere you want. Don't take the other bus route that does not involve the ferry boat, It's much longer, less scenic and you can run into huge traffic jams causing you to potentially spending half of your day in the bus. Taxis are subject to the same traffic jam.

Once in Istanbul, take advantage of the metro. It's much much cheaper than taxis and no traffic which is really bad.

Turkey, Izmit and Istanbul are great. People are very nice and friendly. I highly recommend a visit. And if you have to stay around Izmit, then Wellborn in my opinion is the best hotel choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellbornLuxuryHotel, Genel Müdür at Wellborn Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Traveller10245 ,

Warmest greetings from Wellborn Luxury Hotel.

First of all, we would like to thank you for the all details about your journey. I am sure your feedbacks will be helpfull to the travellers who want to visit Kocaeli and İstanbul from this area.

Also, we are happy to hear you like our rooms, buffet breakfast and Leb-i Derya Restaurant which is famous with Turkish Kebaps.

We will be waiting to see you again in İzmit and host you again in your home away home, Wellborn Luxury Hotel.

Best Regards,

Behiye Şalk

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Getting there
One has to essentially transverse Istanbul from Ataturk airport, the traffic is increasingly heavy and one accident can have significant negative impact, hence on a good day it is 2-2.5 hrs but when returning to catch international flight best to leave at least 5 hrs before flight departure as accidents and subsequent delays can prove vexing. Alternatively there is a smaller local airport “Adnan Menderes” with limited international connections but much closer and avoiding Istanbul.
The Area
The whole area is an industrial area and the hotel caters overwhelmingly for business customers, despite its attractive setting overlooking the Gulf of Izmir and mountains, the water looked fairly clean but I was told is polluted and the adjacent beach was stony and not attractive. There are one or two restaurants a 5-10 minute walk away, but otherwise it is fairly isolated.
The Hotel
The check in was straight forwards and the staff universally were polite and helpful throughout my stay. The ambience is quite pleasant but at least whilst I was there it seemed very low occupancy with the result that you felt it was something of a ghost town.
The Room
The first room I had (premium, sea view ) I was not satisfied with as the window would not shut properly and unfortunately days before I arrived the temperature had plummeted to 14 degrees and a strong wind and rain meant that cold air and a howling noise emanated from this. Additionally it did not have a bath which I wanted as was stiff from long travel. I upgraded to a small suite for 40 Euros which was much nicer and had a bath, but similar but not as pronounced problem with windows not shutting, but at least no noise and only limited drafts. However it meant that the internet connection was slow due to it being longest distance from router.
The bed was comfortable, a turn-down service, and the room was smoke free and clean with a work desk.
The bathroom in the first room was small and no bath ( pictures attached ), but in the suite much larger with separate shower and bath, unfortunately after 1 day the water temperature dropped to the point where you minimized the time in the shower and despite complaining, remained that way until check out, so the bath remained largely an ornament. Towels were patchy, some fluffy, some rags.
Laundry
I put in laundry at 07.30 on a weekday morning including pyjamas but it failed to return despite the guarantee, until the following day, so no PJ’s that night.
Restaurant
Breakfast is served in a ground floor room with a terrace overlooking the Gulf, it is buffet and quite good, however the choice of eggs was extremely hard boiled eggs or a sort of reddish mush which was scrambled eggs with about 50% tomato mixed in, not my style.
Dinner Restaurant on the top floor, again with a terrace must have had seating for well over 100 people indoors but the two evenings I ate there saw no more than 10. The food was quite passable, the service, super attentive, however a Gin and Tonic order proved a bridge too far with small glass with no ice, no lemon, and limited amount of very flat tonic arrived. I note in previous TA reviews complaints were made over the volume of food being too mean, I had the opposite problem, with servings so large they took your appetite away.
I think in good weather both the breakfast room and particularly the dining room would be very pleasant on the terraces overlooking the Gulf and Mountains………..unfortunately not when I was there.

Summary
A four star hotel must be able to get the basics right, hot water, laundry, windows, serving drinks but not knowing how to etc. etc. one or two one can accept as exceptions, collectively sorry, despite good service from staff I rank this a 3 star hotel.
I think I would look a little further afield and be prepared to travel before I booked here again if staying more than one night.

Room Tip: Check windows shut properly in winter before unpacking. Corner Suites are large and sunny and if sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellbornLuxuryHotel, Genel Müdür at Wellborn Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Wellborn Luxury Hotel.

Please rest assured that all points are being addressed within the team and precautions are taken that similar incidents are not likely to happen again.

I sincerely apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations from a five star hotel. We certainly understand that your last experience was shadowed by those technical and service imperfections like hot water, windows, laundry, serving drinks etc… But I wish that the experience will not deter you from choosing Wellborn Luxury Hotel once more to welcome you back for a an inspiring and positive stay with us.

I would be thankful if you would give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your future travels to Kocaeli.

Kind Regards,

Behiye Şalk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Victoria
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice location on the water in a large industrial city. Room is large with quality amenities. Very quiet and comfortable beds.
Food in top floor restaurant ok but service excellent.
Hotel ideal for business traveller's.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellbornLuxuryHotel, Genel Müdür at Wellborn Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for your feedback about the stay in Wellborn Luxury Hotel.

It is very nice and important for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivate us more than anything and show us we are on the right path. We're committed to total guest satisfication.

We are looking forward to host you in your next visit in Kocaeli.

Sincerely,

Behiye Şalk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I haven't stayed in this hotel but ate a dinner on its terrace restaurant "leb-i derya". Live music and the great scene of the Gulf of Izmit accompanied delicious meals with reasonable prices. Portions are a little small. Car park of the hotel seem to be inadequate and disorganized.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellbornLuxuryHotel, Genel Müdür at Wellborn Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Wellborn Luxury Hotel.

We shape our goal of maximizing customer satisfaction in light of your views. Your valuable ideas provide us with high motivation to reach excellence in our service level.

As the Wellborn Luxury Hotel team, we are very happy to have met you and thank you once again for your views reflecting your satisfaction with the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to see you in your next visit in Kocaeli.

Sincerely,

Behiye Şalk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed while visiting a business in the area. The service was fantastic, the location is amazing - take dinner on the 5th floor terrace and what the sun set. Menu was lovely. Highly recommend visiting this hotel if your travelling on business or vacation - and say that Ash sent you :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellbornLuxuryHotel, Genel Müdür at Wellborn Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Wellborn Luxury Hotel.

We shape our goal of maximizing customer satisfaction in light of your views. Your valuable ideas provide us with high motivation to reach excellence in our service level.

As the Wellborn Luxury Hotel team, we are very happy to have met you and thank you once again for your views reflecting your satisfaction with the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to host you in your next visit in Kocaeli.

Sincerely,

Behiye Şalk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wellborn Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellborn Luxury Hotel

Address: Sahil Mahallesi Cevher Dudayev Caddesi 53, Basiskele 41000, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Kocaeli Province > Basiskele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Basiskele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellborn Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wellborn Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellborn Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.