We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My tip: bring climbing shoes and stretch your legs from the long drive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Rock

Castle Rock
South of Interstate 70 at the Quinter exit, Quinter, KS
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Quinter
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“My tip: bring climbing shoes and stretch your legs from the long drive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you have time and a car that's able to go off road (don't take a car that may sit low to the ground) then it's about 20 miles from interstate 70. It's fun rock climbing and moderate hiking. Your car will get dirty as they are county roads. There is no charge and gas at the interstate is a bit lower in cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have always enjoyed seeing these types of formations. Its amazing what nature can do. These things are also a lot taller than they look in the pictures, I need to go back again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafing, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice but not even comparable to Monument Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Don't get me wrong. This is cool rock. But when you first go to see Monument Rocks and then this you will be little dissapinted. So I recommand to first see Castle Rock and then Monument Rocks if you want to see them both on the same day.
The last ~1mile road is quite bumpy but in dry season it's doable with regular (non 4WD) car.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Castle Rock is impressive but the badlands to the south of it are way more interesting. It is a little far out but was worth the trip. Be careful taking a car, the roads around Castle Rock can get a little hard to get through. I plan on going back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niceville
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“out of the way but fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Dont forget nto also visit monument rock. I would like to see them both by moonlight. To fully appreciate these formations it would be best to read a little on how they were formed millions of years ago. There is a small fossil gallery run by very nice people a few miles from monument rock. Take plenty of water and have a full tank of gas. We finally found a place to eat in Scott City.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Rock also viewed

 

Been to Castle Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.