We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's very acceptable and I would stay again... but I had to laugh..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7200 West 107th Street, Overland Park, KS 66212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Overland Park
Oregon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It's very acceptable and I would stay again... but I had to laugh..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel is nicely located and excellent value for money. The guy on reception was extremely helpful and I commend his attitude.

The room I got was a King Suite and although it had the older CRT tv, the bed was very comfortable with soft sheets and firm pillows. Really was nice.

What made me laugh, was that I had read a number of reviews that commented on the vacuuming standard. So as I pull out the chair at the desk to sit down, I see under the desk, a quarter and a similarly sized piece of bacon!

So based on the fact that money was there, ether the staff are very well paid and the quarter was not worth picking up, or they simply don't vacuum properly! (Or they need a new vacuum?).

The only other thing I noted, was that the tub fixtures were somewhat free of the tile. This is a common problem I note in many hotels, that tradespeople simply don't want to take the time when doing hotel renovations to adjust the pipes and fittings to ensure a proper seal against the tile. It is something you would absolulety expect in your house if you paid a tradesman to do your bathroom, yet in hotels no one seems to care.

Breakfast was pretty much the standard fare so nothing unexpected or exceptional. If I'm in need of a hotel in this area again, I would give them another go.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
38
19
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 10 years and have noticed a slow decline in their attention to detail. Our last visit - a few days ago - indicated that the decline has continued. Our room was OK, however the floor had not been completely vacuumed prior to our arrival and was not cleaned during our 3 night stay. There was a metal clip on the floor upon our arrival and we put it on the counter on our departure. The second day, the "floor towel mat" (used when exiting the bath) was not provided. First "free breakfast" had no decaf coffee during our 30 minute breakfast. The hot water was not hot - just warm. The elevator did not work one evening. A friend stayed for one night and had similar experiences. The first room that was provided was already OCCUPIED!!. How can this happen?? Upon returning to the desk, the clerk was busy on the phone and did not seem concerned that she had given out a key to a room that was occupied. The second room provided had issues with the lock not working with the key. Again, return to the front desk and the clerk was still on the phone. She suggested that the lock would work if you pulled up on the handle. This did work. The desk lamp had only one of two bulbs.

These all add up to a decline in performance. We will look for another location next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedurain, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your response. I do apologize that your stay at The Comfort Inn & Suites was less then acceptable. It is the goal of the property staff to provide exceptional quality service both at the Front Desk and throughout the stay. The property does have a Guest Log in place to note any issues the guest informs of us so that we can correct them immediately. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of the issues you noted during your stay so this review is quite a suprise! In regards to the metal clip on the floor, room not being vacummed and bath mat not available, I can assure you these are not our standards and have been addressed with staff.

Again thank you for your response as we view it as a training opportunity and continue to strive for excellance in service.

On behalf of my staff and myself again we do apologize for the unacceptable service you received.

Buffy Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs,Ar
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

Refreshing to have other than standard motel colors and style of decor. Bright reds in lobby are refreshing. Convenient location. Reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Well located near I-435 and Metcalf. I like to walk for excercise, and there are safe, well lighted sidewalks here with numerous restaurant choices nearby.

This hotel is among the better Comfort Inns, very clean and well managed. Its all about the details, and most everything here was as it should be. My travel companion and I were both happy with the hotel and used most of the amenities. The air conditioners in both rooms worked fine and quietly.

I did notice that the sound transmission from the neighboring room was greater than normal, though it was not a problem with this particular neighbor. Perhaps that was a characteristic of my individual room as by business companion didn't notice it.

The breakfast was typical, this hotel had a full time attendant. Comfort's coffee is pretty lame. Some other chains have begun to add a bold coffee choice and I wish Comfort would also.

No hotel is perfect every time, but it is clear these folks try hard to please and know their business. I'll likely stay here the next time I'm in this part of KC.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedurain, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you so much for choosing the Comfort Inn & Suites of Overland Park, KS as your place to stay! We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you! We greatly value feedback from our guests as we understand that guest comments are the best way for us to continue to improve our property and guest service. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here while traveling on business. We take the time to pass your comments along to our brand consultant in regards to your coffee preferences! A good morning cup of joe is important to many of us here and we understand the importance for our guests as well!

Again, thank you for taking time to review our property and for staying with us. Travelers have many options when choosing a place to call home when on the road and we are very thankful that you selected our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us when returning to this area!

Warm Regards,
Victoria Durain
Sales Manager
vdurain@kinseth.com
913-648-7858
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for one week with our 2 year olds and had a very good overall experience. The location worked out well for our destinations, and the close proximity to a nearby highway was surprisingly not a noise issue. The breakfast spread was great, room cleanliness/environment great, and the staff was excellent. Our only concern was the condition of the pool, but that was not a necessity for our stay. A great stay for a great price. We will return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedurain, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn & Suites of Overland Park, KS as your place to stay! We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you! Thank you for taking time to review our property and provide us with your feedback. We know that comments from our guests it the best way for us to improve our property and service! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We do work hard to ensure that we have provide a clean, friendly, and well maintained facility.

Again, thank you so much for staying with us! Travelers have many options when it comes to choosing a place to stay when on the road and we truly grateful that your selected our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should be traveling to this area! It would be our pleasure to serve you and your family again! Thanks so much!

Warm Regards,
Victoria Durain
Sales Manager
vdurain@kinseth.com
913-648-7858
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here on 8/5 - 8/7, and we had to switch rooms due to the non-working A/C system in our first room. Their own maintenance person told us that the A/C units were junk, and the GM told me that due to the hot summer, the units have started breaking down. It does not appear to be a problem that is being worked on. Their A/C units have a High and Low fan, but they blow the same amount of air. It was incredibly uncomfortable. The only time that the room was cool was when the A/C was on all day with nobody in the room. Once we returned and went to bed, it got warm very fast. We could not check out fast enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedurain, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. We value our guest comments and understand that all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, gives us an opportunity to continue training with our staff as well as improve service and guest accomodations.
I do apologize for your disappointing experience at this property in regards to your 2 night stay on August 5-7 ,2011. Due to the extreme heat and consecutive days of temperatures above average, our A/C units have been working overtime and some have failed us. Under normal conditions we typically do not have these issues. We have been diligent in replacing units as they have failed and continually are working with the hotel staff to ensure each guest room is at a comfortable temperature during their stay. I do apologize if it appeared the maintenance staff insinuated that all units were junk and did not clarify that he was referring to the unit in the guest room as he was replacing it.
Our staff works hard to ensure all guest requests are addressed in a timely and efficient manner and the comfort and safety of our guest is our number one priority.
Again thank you for your response,
Buffy Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA US
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Enjoyed our one nighter here. Close to both Kansas and Missouri sides of south KC. Room was excellent as was service. Restaurants and shopping nearby. Pet, non-smoking room was inside entrance, 2nd floor via elevator. Room was clean and stocked.

Room Tip: Upstairs room was very good and quiet even though we were in a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedurain, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you so much for choosing the Comfort Inn & Suites of Overland Park as your place to stay! We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you! We highly value guest feedback as we understand that is the only was we can continue to improve our service and facility. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Should you be traveling to this area again, we truly hope we will see you again! I

Warm Regards,

Victoria Durain
Manager
vdurain@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park

Address: 7200 West 107th Street, Overland Park, KS 66212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park Hotel Overland Park
Comfort Inn And Suites - Overland Park
Comfort Inn Overland Park
Overland Park Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites - Overland Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.