We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From steaks to salads, they're all exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill
6601 W. 135th Street, Suite A9, Corbin Park, Overland Park, KS 66223
+1 913-202-1761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 390 Restaurants in Overland Park
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Firebirds is a collection of polished casual restaurants offering a refined atmosphere, top-notch service and upscale dining at a modest price. We are known for our authentic, wood-fired entrees infused with bold flavors, fresh herbs & spices. Our restaurants feature a selection of aged steaks hand-cut in the restaurant, fresh seafood, chicken & ribs seared over local hickory, oak or pecan wood.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“From steaks to salads, they're all exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We've been to Firebirds for Happy Hour (great atmosphere), lunch (huge salad portions and lunch specials at nice prices) and dinner (excellent prime rib and delmonico steak sandwich). We had amazing customer service from different servers each time. And, you don't find restaurants of this caliber that offer tater tots as a side--and a hefty portion at that. Firebirds is one of our new favorites!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Heard Great Things, But Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place seems to be the 'hot' new ticket in town so we visited for dinner on a Sunday evening. Our server was very good, but after waiting for dinner for nearly 30 minutes the manager stopped by to inform us that there had been a problem with one of our items and the kitchen wanted to make it again so everything was perfect when served. She also noted that she would be back to check on us after the food was delivered to confirm things were good.

The food eventually arrived and most of it was good. (Ahi Tuna--good with a nice spicy rub; Cilantro chicken--good; Chicken tortilla soup--good, but strong on the cilantro; Sesame encrusted salmon--good, but overcooked and a little dry along with parmesan mashed potatoes that were cold and cold vegetables.)

Our server was trying very hard to make sure things were alright so I did not take this up with her. My assumption was the manager would be back by as promised and this could be discussed with her. Well, she never came back by despite my efforts to make eye contact with her several times. I guess she wasn't worried about us.

So, to sum it up, the wait was very long for fairly simple items, things generally good, but not great, manager didn't follow through with her promise and it certainly was not inexpensive.

Maybe we were just unlucky, but I doubt I will be back any time soon--lots of other better options in my opinion nearby.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal - Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Firebirds is brand new (opened in December). A small group of us went here for a business dinner and it was the best meal of our trip! The restaurant does take reservations by phone or online. They also have an email club you can join for coupons and special offers.

Atmosphere/Decor - excellent decor! Different booths, high top tables, regular tables, pillows on the booths, wine bottle decorations, big beams, kitchen behind large glass window so you can watch them cook. Very cozy feel. Atmosphere was very nice - great place for business dinner, after-work happy hour or date. A bit too fancy for a family meal with young kids.

Service - the service was excellent! Waitstaff really gets involved and makes recommendations. Helps you find the best wine/cocktail/appetizer/meal for you.

Winedown Mondays - on Monday's bottles of wine and glasses of wine are half off! The wine selection is large and delicious!

Food - the food was excellent! Presentation of meal was very nice on huge white plates that say Firebirds. Our group tried the Lobster Spinach Queso, Mixed Green salad, Filet Mignon, Wood Grilled Salmon, Aspen Sirloin and Coconut Shrimp. All excellent! Portions were very large - definitely no extra room for dessert!

Happy Hour - I saw a quick advertisement on their TV screen for their happy hour menu that runs from 3p-7p Mon-Fri and features $5 martinis/margaritas/cocktails/wines and $2 draft beers. Also $5 bites and 1/2 price bar appetizers. There is a HUGE bar area and also a large outdoor patio area that will be great in the summer.

I highly recommend going! This was truly one of the best dining experiences I've had!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leawood, kansas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“new...and VERY good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Have been to this location and one in Nebraska. Both experiences very good,...better than 801 chophouse in leawood.

very nice décor inside....good service..attentive mgmt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very Good New Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A new restaurant that recently opened in the southern Overland Park area. A very awesome bar display that is backlit showing liquor bottles - really an impressive backdrop. A very good restaurant that has a varied menu with multiple options!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebirds Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Firebirds Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.