We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Phad Thai you'll ever eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Place

Thai Place
9359 W 87th, Overland Park, KS 66212-3753
9136495420
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 390 Restaurants in Overland Park
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eureka, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Phad Thai you'll ever eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This little restaurant, located in old Overland Park, is one of the best Thai restaurants I have ever eaten in, all over the country. I have had numerous entries and lunches over the years, and the food and service has been consistently very high. The curries are warm, mellow, and wonderful, particularly on a cold winter night. My favorite, that I have a hard time ordering anything else over, is the Phad Thai. The style is more of a hearty "peasant-style" Phad Thai, and is loaded with rich, warm flavors. You can order any heat level you wish - I usually order the "Thai Hot," due to the fact that I am a Chili Head, and the heat is about all I can take. When I order it like that, the dish literally explodes with flavor. But, if you have a mild palate, not to worry. My daughter hates anything that is spicy and orders the mild, and loves that as well. Give this place a try - it is well worth your trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Keep coming back for more!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Some friends took me to eat at this restaurant a few years ago and have been going back ever since. Its a small but nice family owned restaurant. The wait staff is very helpful and so friendly. The food is so good that whenever we visit we always get an extra order to bring home as leftovers to eat the next day. Some of our favorites include crab rangoons, pad thai, and pad sea eaw.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Thai Place has the best pineapple fried rice that I have ever eaten. I would highly recommend this place, and will be back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The food was great, the service was courteous and knowledgeable, and a wonderful jazz guitarist completed the atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“LOVED the Thai Place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went to the Thai Place for a business lunch... Could have stayed there the entire day and ate my way to a bariatric treatment center.

I had curry chicken of some sort... Stellar.

As an appetizer .. Had some sort of beef on shredded cabbage with a spicy sauce on the side... I could have dined on a couple orders of that and been ecstatic.

Service / cleanliness / atmosphere... All first rate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Place also viewed

 

Been to Thai Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.