We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8787 Reeder Road, Overland Park, KS 66214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Overland Park
Fort Riley, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Okay stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband, 1 year old and myself stayed at this hotel for 2 nights the first week of June. Finding the hotel wasn't an issue and check in was smooth. I requested a crib beforehand and it was in the system, but not in the room. When we got into the room, it was nicely appointed and comfy until I sat on the bed. We immediately figured out the bed was very bouncy and soft but it wasn't too much of an issue. The room was clean but kinda dusty like someone hadn't stayed there in a few weeks and it was FREEZING. We quickly figured out that the ac unit had two settings which were high on cold or off. It didn't bother us enough to complain about it but someone who isn't used to bundling up in a cold room might ask to be moved. About 20 minutes after checking in, the front desk gave us a call to make sure the room was satisfactory and I said yes, but we hadn't received our crib yet, she apologized and the crib was there in about 5 minutes. The crib linens were nice and clean but the crib itself not so much. I always travel with lysol or clorox wipes and I used the wipes to clean up the crib, there was just a little bit of gunk (maybe old food) on the bars that I had to clean up before putting my son in for a nap.
The bathroom was small and plain and the bathtub was tricky, the tub itself is angled and slippery. I didn't realize it was like that until I put my son in for a bath and he slipped (he didn't hurt himself but it scared me a little) so I decided to take a shower with him so I can hold him.
Overall the room was relaxing and a place to lay down, the tv was easy to use and the cable options were great. We visited the attached restaurant for breakfast the morning we checked out and it was a nice meal. For the right price, I'd consider staying here again. It was in a very convenient location, nearby a nice mall, places to eat and not too far from major KC venues to visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the backside of the hotel to stay away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear JaysMama,

Thank you for your recent stay with us as well as the detailed review. Feedback such as yours helps us improve the experience for all future guests to come.

Please accept my apologies regarding the crib. We are looking into the cleaning schedule for them and will purchase additional if needed.

Can you send me your reservation information when you have time? I would like to look into the AC issue you mentioned. Many of the ptech units are new, but even the older ones have a low and high setting.

Once again thank you for your review and business. We hope to see you again next time your in the area.

Sincerely,

Alan Jenner
Guest Service Manager
Email: ajenner@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    26
    16
    12
See reviews for
32
24
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurens, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel was very, very clean. We had a newly remodeled room on the 4th floor. We have a 1 year old that would nap in the early afternoon. Despite being out of the room fairly early in the day, we would always return between 2-3 to a room that was not made up. Our room was only made up 1 time during our 4 night stay. We literally were gone all day long that day. There was still construction going on in the hotel. I honestly didn't mind it until the evening that they were still working at 10 pm. I don't know...there was just something lacking service wise. I'm not sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review.

Our highest priority here at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West is our guests. The hotel did recently complete it's renovation although it appears some final touches may have occurred while you were here.

Please accept our apologies regarding the housekeeping issues you experienced. We have addressed the training issue and have taken steps to prevent the same occurrence.

It is my hope that you reconsider your decision on returning to the hotel. Given the opportunity, I believe we can change your opinion.

Sincerely,
Alan Jenner
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We traveled to Overland Park, KS from Dallas, TX (May 9-11, 2014). We were there to visit my husband's 93 year old Grandma and other family. Before we even traveled I read many reviews on Trip Advisor and was concerned about Highway noise. I emailed the manager (Alan) beforehand as we are very light sleeper's and he graciously booked us a room in the back of the hotel. Thanks!!

We checked in on a Friday at 4:30pm and it was very quick. Front desk clerks were very friendly.

We had a 3rd floor suite that looked to be remodeled (smelled of new carpet). Room was very nice and clean. I really liked that the toilet and tub/shower are behind a door and the sink/counter are outside the bathroom. It was also very quiet, no problems with noise at all. Air conditioner worked great. The bed and pillows were comfortable and we slept really well (even with a 4 year old in between us). Room has a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

Hotel also has a nice pool (part indoor/part outdoor) and a hot tub. There are towels stocked in the area. Pool was too cold for me and hot tub was hot like it should be.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room in the back. Front of the hotel faces the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Kerry H,

Thank you for your amazing review of the Holiday Inn & Suites Overland Park West!

It's always important for us to learn how we may improve, however comments such as yours are inspiring and as equally welcome.

We hope to see you again next time your in the area.

Sincerely,

Alan Jenner
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strafford MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

If I had never been to Hampton Inn, Fairfield Suites, or even one of the better Best Westerns, Holiday Inn would be a nice choice.

But I have been to all those places. And plenty of others. And Holiday Inn must step it up.

Let's start by having to stand ungreeted at the check-in desk for nearly five minutes (@ 5:30pm on a Saturday), and no one in sight. I wandered around the lobby / restaurant area for a few minutes, came back, and finally came upon someone to check us in.

The room was fine, and the restaurant/bar sets Holiday Inn apart from most mid-priced lodging.

But no complimentary breakfast of ANY sort (much less a hot one)? And the lobby coffee is served in 8oz white styro cups with no lids? Really???

They completely missed the mark on several things that are important to me. For that price, never again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mark J,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any and all of the inconsistencies you encountered during your recent stay. I can assure you that we are as equally surprised as this is the complete opposite of the experience we hope that all guests depart with.

If possible, contact me at your earliest convenience. I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your stay further and extend an invitation to return or make amends.

Sincerely,

Alan Jenner
Guest Service Manager
ajenner@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Check in went smoothly. Staff was friendly. Even though I got a room just off the elevator lobby, it was pretty quiet from the standpoint of internal noise. Be aware that rooms on front side of the hotel have a lot of highway noise. It didn't bother me, but if you are sensitive to that, request a room facing the back.

The hotel looks to have gone though a recent renovation and was clean. The lobby was spacious and inviting with computers that actually worked!

The room was average sized and laid out well. I slept great and the oversized pillows were very comfortable. Lots of choices on the TV.

My only real complaint was with the tub. I am a bath person but they installed a grab rail that hits you right in the head/neck when you try to recline essentially making taking a comfortable bath impossible.

Overall, I was pleased and would stay again if I got another good deal.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Hrbek14,
We are more than appreciative of your kind comments and business. It is our pleasure serving your needs. We would be delighted to see you again whenever you return to the area.
Sincerely,
Alan Jenner
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here two nights on business. Very nice hotel, clean rooms, and quiet. The ONLY issue was the poor internet, which is an issue when you are traveling on business. Not overly impressed with the on-site restaurant - just fair serve and food. There are better options close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Hokiechip,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review.

The hotel has just added an extensive number of internet gates which has corrected the uncommon challenge you experienced.

We hope to earn your business again next time your in the area.

Sincerely,

Alan Jenner
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I travel for business, use Hotwire and so am never sure where I will end up. It would be OK with me to end up here any time. Stacy has been at the front desk since I started staying there about 4 years ago. He does a great job. His demeanor & professionalism seems to resonate through out the staff. This building is showing it's age but is well kept and nicely decorated. The room was comfy, big screen HD TV, frig & micro-wave. There's a great restaurant/bar on the main floor, pool, hot-tub area and a nice office center. This play is near the high way, a variety of places to eat and shopping. Please, let me know how was your stay. Maybe I'll see you there!

Room Tip: I'm not sure but the rooms in the rear may be a little quieter. The front faces the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Geotreo,

Thank you for your second positive review of the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West in less than two years.

Your kind comments toward Stacey will make his day!

We look forward to seeing again next time your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West

Address: 8787 Reeder Road, Overland Park, KS 66214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Overland Park, Kansas, you are always welcome at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West. Excellent location for an Overland Park, Kansas hotel at 87th and Interstate 35. Close to Pine Ridge Business Park and Oak Park MallThe Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West is centrally located to all major visitor attractions and sports venues. The Overland Park, Kansas hotel is one of the closest lodging facilities to the Bass Pro Shop, Kansas Speedway and Legends Shopping at Village West. Country Club Plaza, Crown Center Plaza, Sandstone/Verizon Amphitheatre, Worlds of Fun and the Renaissance Festival of Kansas City are all within a 30 minute drive. The Overland Park Kansas hotel has 191 well appointed guestrooms including 50 elegant suites with microwaves, refrigerators and wet bars. Free wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and meeting rooms. Inside the Overland Park Kansas hotel is the Green Mill Restaurant & Bar. Serving great American food and beverage, featuring award-winning pizza and wings. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax, it's Holiday Inn and as always, Kids Stay and Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Overland Park West
Holiday Inn Overland Park
Overland Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.