We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8787 Reeder Road, Overland Park, KS 66214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Overland Park
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I love this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have stayed here routinely on all of my visits to KC for several years now. The quality just gets better. The staff has stayed fairly consistent and they are so welcoming and friendly. They visit with you as you come and go and never make you feel rushed. I am not a fan of the restaurant. The food is not as good as the prices would have you believe, so we usually go across the street to Perkins to eat. The beds are comfortable. There is a mirrored area outside of the bathroom, so when you are travling in pairs, 2 can get ready at the same time. I would recomend this to anyone coming to KC. It is clean, centrally located to highways and shopping, comfortable and has great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your complimentary review of the hotel and staff.
Your business and patronage are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    24
    16
    12
See reviews for
29
22
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

Please keep in mind the one thing this review wont actually capture is the smell.

Upon check in I asked if I could get a room with a microwave, the manager said it costs $10 extra. I've stayed in this chain before, & since I have a toddler in tow I though being able to use the fridge, & microwave would be excellent. BUT, my room had no microwave, and what's worse when I asked about it they sent a microwave to my room.

I am almost certain a previous guest, or disgruntled employee had urinated in the air conditioner, as the smell of ammonia when I turned it on made my eyes water.


The springs in the chair are broken so you literally sink to a very uncomfortable low level. A few fixtures are falling off the wal....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Overland Park West.
I want to apologize for your less than positive experience which was the opposite of what we strive to achieve. Please contact me directly should you return to the area as I would like the opportunity to regain your confidence.
Sincerest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel! We stayed for a last minute appointment! Highly Recomended!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your recent visit. I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Check-in was quick. Room was neat and clean. Quiet. Fridge and microwave in room. Just stayed 1 night and didn't get to use the pool. Breakfast was good, service quick; rather expensive, but on-site and nothing terribly close by. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thanks for the glowing comments regarding your recent stay.
We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park Kansas and invite you to stay with us again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriam, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The hotel was adequate. I would have been mad if I paid the regular price. I booked through Priceline. I've stayed in nicer 2 star hotels. Room was clean enough but beds and pillows seemed uncomfortable. The bathroom had a slight sewer smell. It was very quiet after 9pm which was really nice. No microwaves or fridges in regular rooms. My biggest gripe was I overheard the nighttime manager rent a room to a teenager. First he told him he couldn't rent a room since he was under 21. The he asked the kid if he had his girl there with him and told him he didn't want any trouble from him and went ahead and gave him a room. So, I guess it's a popular place for teens to get a room even if underage!

Room Tip: I would ask next time for a higher level on the outside of the hotel. The inner rooms overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent stay as we strive for much higher standards. If you find a need for lodging in this area again, I would like the opportunity to earn back your business. Please contact me directly for a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice location great staff and good value ..rooms were spacious and clean restaurant had decent food the pizza is good..Had guest laundry that was very nice and clean well maintained machines ...lots of hot water for a shower the swimming pool area was very nice there was always people in the pool the few nights I was there lots of places to eat and shop close by. Very close to interstate easy on and off. I would defiantly stay here again...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I was a little concerned when I read some of the other reviews of this hotel. We got this one on Priceline for a great price so I figured at least we didn't pay that much. I was very pleasantly surprised that the hotel was very nice. There is always going to be something to complain about if you look hard enough, but we found very little. The curtains in our room were constantly blowing from the fan underneath, but we put phone books on top of them and that held them in place. The bed was very comfortable, and I always like the pillows at Holiday Inns. Having a refrigerator to put our food in was a nice extra. Unlike one of the other reviews I read, I thought that the rooms were very nice and were as well maintained as the lobby area. We were only there overnight, so didn't use any of the amenities, but found the room to be quite comfortable and a nice atmosphere for just hanging out and watching tv.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your recent stay.
We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park Kansas and invite you to stay with us again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West

Address: 8787 Reeder Road, Overland Park, KS 66214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Overland Park, Kansas, you are always welcome at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West. Excellent location for an Overland Park, Kansas hotel at 87th and Interstate 35. Close to Pine Ridge Business Park and Oak Park MallThe Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West is centrally located to all major visitor attractions and sports venues. The Overland Park, Kansas hotel is one of the closest lodging facilities to the Bass Pro Shop, Kansas Speedway and Legends Shopping at Village West. Country Club Plaza, Crown Center Plaza, Sandstone/Verizon Amphitheatre, Worlds of Fun and the Renaissance Festival of Kansas City are all within a 30 minute drive. The Overland Park Kansas hotel has 191 well appointed guestrooms including 50 elegant suites with microwaves, refrigerators and wet bars. Free wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and meeting rooms. Inside the Overland Park Kansas hotel is the Green Mill Restaurant & Bar. Serving great American food and beverage, featuring award-winning pizza and wings. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax, it's Holiday Inn and as always, Kids Stay and Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Overland Park West
Holiday Inn Overland Park
Overland Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.