We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best theatre ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Theatre Restaurant

New Theatre Restaurant
9229 Foster Street, Overland Park, KS 66212
(913) 649-7469
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best theatre ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been coming to Overland Park to go to this theatre for several years now! Whenever we have a 3-day weekend coming up, I check to see what is showing. Always a great show, great food, great service, great experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    38
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have a friend who has season tickets. Has always heard about it and it never really interested me. Then I got the opportunity to go for free and fell in love with it. Even took my teenager to see 'Hairspray'. I look forward to each new show!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love New Theater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've been to New Theater several times and its always amazing. The food is outstanding and the shows even more so! The prices are reasonable, especially for the quality of food they serve.

My one issue is seating however... the last time we were there we sat in an aisle/box seat and for the first time ever, had an issue. There were 3 tables in our little section and the man sitting at the first table had his chair pushed out so far we had to squeeze by (which is not fun with a plate of hot food)...even the waiter was having an issue getting by. We asked the waiter to say something, which he politely did and the man had the nerve to push his chair out even further!

When we got up and tried to get by, we couldn't get through. My husband had to literally push the guy's chair forward (with him in it) to get by and the man didn't say anything!! Its not New Theater's fault but I would really watch what seats you by or you might get trapped too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We Make This a Regular Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Combine good company with good wine, a funny live show and excellent food and what do you get? New Theatre Restaurant of course!

We go as often as we can and have NEVER been disappointed - well sometimes the show is a little less funny but it's hard to please everybody right. But as far as the food is concerned it is always a hit and we've been going there for years. Don't miss out!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“be a season member”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we have been season memebers for over 6 years. we go here 5-6 times a year and love the shows and they have the best buffet you'll ever go to! food is always prepared well and they never let it get cold or stale by being over heat to long. great desserts too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Theatre Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Theatre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Theatre Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.