We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot & Noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pear Tree Inn Overland Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pear Tree Inn Overland Park to your Saves list
Pear Tree Inn Overland Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10951 Metcalf Ave, Overland Park, KS 66210-2301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Overland Park
1 review
“Hot & Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has hot rooms with no way to adjust the temp down. There seemed to be about 1000 kids running around with no supervision. Noise all night. Couldn't someone have warned us?
Parking was a SERIOUS problem --- many people drove around and around trying to find a spot. Finally parked in a restaurant lot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Overland Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We appreciate hearing from our guests and thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and do want to reassure you that the air conditioning/noise/parking lot issues will be fixed soon. It is very helpful for us to hear from our guests because it helps us to identify any concerns with our team to make the appropriate changes for upcoming stays. If you have any further questions about Drury, please let us know how we can help. Again, thanks for your feedback and we do hope we'll have a chance to see you as our guest again soon!

Sincerely,
Curt Cerise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
52
12
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hallsville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I used a Drury Gold Key free night for this room and was put into the dreaded room near the elevator. As a result, the stay wasn't that great. We were also near a door heading out to the parking garage and got to listen to it all night. Stay away from rooms near elevators and outside doors. As for the hotel itself, the room was OK. Clean, and comfortable. The exterior appearance of the hotel wasn't that great. Parking lot is in bad shape and doesn't look inviting at all. This hotel shares a parking garage with the Drury next door so it wasn't really a safe feeling hotel. The lobby layout is weird with the breakfast area broken up into pieces and the layout just feeling old and odd. I really wouldn't choose this hotel again. It just is too rough and not very inviting for families.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near elevator or outside doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Overland Park, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sincerely sorry that you experienced noise issues due to the location of your room. I am happy to see that you found our hotel clean & comfortable. I will be sure to share your feedback on our parking lot with the appropriate department to make repairs. We are always improving our product & we are scheduled for an update within 12 months or so. I hope that you will consider Drury Hotels going forward.

Sincerely,
Curt Cerise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a comp'd room, so I am not complaining, but although it was nice a clean, it was tiny. Additionally, the TV was a hundred years old. The hot breakfast was great, as usual. The location was perfect for what we needed. And being able to park on the same level as our room was very handy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

There are positives and negative for this property. On the upside: the staff was wonderful, breakfast was great, the free easy to access parking garage was a nice bonus, as two women traveling alone we felt safe, lots of shopping and dining nearby, and it was very quiet. On the downside, while our room was generally clean I was disappointed by a stained chair, stained box spring, dust and hair I saw on my sheets when I pulled back the comforter, and the room overall felt outdated. I am wondering if we stayed in one of the older rooms?

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn Overland Park, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for choosing Drury Hotels! We appreciate hearing from our guests and are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and breakfast during your stay with us. We are sorry to hear, though, about the cleanliness issues you experienced. Your comments have been passed along to our housekeeping team. It is our mission for guests to enjoy a comfortable and clean stay! We truly appreciate your business and do hope to see you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Curt Cerise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed there 4 nights to visit family. Facilities and room very clean, great breakfast, & a "plus" to have afternoon popcorn and free coffee and soft drinks available. I liked having a recliner by the window and coffee, microwave and small refrigerator in the room (behind armoire doors, so not "in your face"). The shower gel, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in the shower were new for me, and I liked them -- neat and clean. Covered parking was great in the cold weather. Staff was very helpful -- they even searched to find the cell phone I left in the room and mail it to me! Location is good for getting around the area and having restaurants, stores and copy facilities nearby. I grew up in this area and felt quite comfortable here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday - was visiting family so only needed a place to sleep. The property is very clean and in a safe area - a great location by 435 and the staff was very friendly. The room, a single queen, was a bit small but clean. The bed was comfortable and had plenty of soft pillows. No refrigerator in my room but is available in some other rooms. The bathroom was newly redone in tile and was very nice. The only drawback for me was the shower head was very low - it could use one of those attachments to bring the head higher. I liked that the a/c unit could be set to fan and it was a nice constant sound to fall asleep to. Contentinal breakfast was good - scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, biscuts & gravy. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Was in 303 which faced the intersection of 435 & Metcalf. Could hear a little traffic noise but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've traveled to Overland Park for work and for boards courses and have stayed here a few times. Prices are extremely reasonable, you can get a a good amount of rewards points quickly and earn free rooms at a good pace too. They have a continental breakfast and provide popcorn (around 3) and other food in the evening along with drinks.

The rooms are good size (it's only been me traveling) and they do have laundry and workout facilities. You can also ask for a gym pass to the Midtown Athletic Club at the front desk while you're staying. Staff is always courteous and if you come here often enough like I do, remember you.

Location: right off 435 so easy on easy off if you're passing through!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pear Tree Inn Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn Overland Park

Address: 10951 Metcalf Ave, Overland Park, KS 66210-2301
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pear Tree Inn Overland Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pear Tree Inn by Drury provides an outstanding balance of quality, amenities and value. Guests can enjoy a free hot breakfast daily, free evening beverages daily from 5:30-7 pm, free wireless Internet access in all rooms and throughout the hotel, free local calls and 60 minutes of free long distance calls. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Expedia so you can book your Pear Tree Inn Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn Overland Park Hotel Overland Park
Pear Tree Overland Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pear Tree Inn Overland Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.