We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Overland Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Overland Park to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11001 Oakmont, Overland Park, KS 66210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Overland Park
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The service is terrible, hotel is find it's the people that run it.
This will be my last time staying here.Need new management and this will be a great hotel to stay in.The location is great love that .Just having a bad experience here make me think that management is racist really thinking bout checking out this hotel today

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Overland Park, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear c c,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
9
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I went to our first Nascar Sprint cup race, and also the Craftsman Truck race. We booked this hotel only a week in advance and got a room... Everything was perfect, right from check in to check out. Awesome and comfortable.
When we arrived, I got to spin the wheel, and got ourselves 1000 priority club member points. Nice. The kitchen is the best, equipped with everything you could need to make a simple breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Hen House, is right beside, very good for groceries.
The bed was comfortable, and room itself very comfortable. Not one bad thing to say about the Candlewood Suites in Overland Park, Kansas. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, only because we were very tired, it had been a long 12 hour drive. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for one night in March 2013 and really enjoyed it. The check in experience was quick and efficient. The room including the bathroom was clean and comfortable. I was most impressed with the quietness of the hotel; we both rested very well here. I would stay here again if I travel to this area of KC for business or leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Candlewood Suites Overland Park did a great job on updating it's rooms. I stayed here a year ago, due to it's good proximity for business at Johnson County Community College (within walking distance). This year I was pleasantly surprised by a classy, refreshed room! The design is all well thought out and sleek. If I had to live in a studio apartment I would want it to look very much like the rooms here! Highly recommended if you don't require a lot of service during your stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am in the middle of a three month stay at Candlewood here in Overland Park, Kansas and I would like to compliment the General Manager, Josh, the Sales Manager, Becky, and the front desk staff - Kamela, Steve, Vanessa, Adam, and Cynthia, and Blanca and the housekeeping staff, for their warmth and friendliness, great customer service, care and concern, and diligence. They're all doing a wonderful job and I really appreciate that!

This property has been renovated just in the last few months. The rooms are spotless, the decor is appealing, and the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are large and warm and there's great water pressure in the showers! Large flatscreen TVs with HD channels are in every room as well. It's a pleasant experience to stay here, and a great value for the money.

I will be coming to Overland Park several times a year and when I do, I will definitely stay at Candlewood Overland Park. I will be staying at the Fort Myers Sanibel Gateway Candlewood (reviewed by me previously) for a year or longer until I make a decision on what city in Florida to live in permanently when not in Kansas. The reason for my choice was because of the way I was helped by Sandi Gretz, the Sales Manager there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbor Vitae
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here December of 2012. Everything was very fresh, looks to me that they had just undergone a recent update. My room was clean, modern, and comfortable. Decent size flat screen TV's (1 in living area, 1 in bedroom), good work surface, and good kitchen appliances/supplies. Bathroom / shower was also all very new looking and the shower had well-above-average water pressure.

The staff was for the most part friendly and attentive.

I think some of the "They didn't clean my room during the 3 days that I was there" reviews are from people that don't normally use extended stay type hotels...

I have found Candlewood to be the "sweet spot" between the higher-end (Residence Inn, etc) and the lower end (Extended Stay America, etc). They are also a pet friendly chain and most have a designated dog exercise area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My review is based on a very short stay. I was at this hotel for less than 12 hours - arriving late and checking out early. I was also upgraded to a better room, so I can't comment on the typical room here. The upgraded room reminds me of what you will usually get at a Residence Inn. The bedroom can be shut off by a door. The entry room has a small kitchen, a sofa, television, and the bathroom. The room was very clean, and it had everything I needed. The fitness room had what I needed. It had 2 treadmills, a weight machine, and some other equipment. They also offered washers and dryers. When I was there, several of the washers were not working, but there were some available. I liked that the fitness center was in the same room as the washers and dryers, so that you can exercise while you do laundry. They do not offer a free breakfast, but they have items that you can purchase on the honor system in their pantry. I also don't think that Candlewood has regular housekeeping service. If you plan to stay multiple days, you need to find out what days they clean the rooms. For what I needed, this place was great. They do offer limited services, but their prices are lower as well. It was fine with me not to eat breakfast there, because there were good places nearby for that. There's a shopping center a short walk away. This has a grocery store and a few restaurants. All of the staff that I saw were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Overland Park

Address: 11001 Oakmont, Overland Park, KS 66210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Overland Park 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection. The Candlewood Suites Kansas City-Overland Park is conveniently located one block north of Johnson County Community College and conveniently located minutes from Sprint, Farmers Insurance, Burlington Northern, Honeywell, Yellow Freight, SBC and Applebee's World Headquarters. Candlewood Suites offers two types of suites: studio suite and the one bedroom suite. Each suite comes complete with all the amenities of home including fully equipped kitchens, TV, VCR/DVD player, executive desk with 2-line telephone, speaker phone and high-speed Internet access. We feature an on-site grocery store , 'Candlewood Cupboard' , with 24-hour accessibility for snacks, beverages and in-room meals. In addition, we have complimentary laundry facilities on-site, along with an expanded fitness center for your convenience and 24-hour fitness passes. Expanded cable and HBO are also featured.Surrounding leisure attractions include Oak Park Mall, Bass Pro Shops, Rainforest Cafe, the Great Mall, restaurants, Home of NASCAR; Kansas Speedway, Worlds of Fun, Zoo and IMAX theater, Union Station, and Crown Center. We are a pet friendly hotel, please call for pet policy. We feature a guest service oriented staff and we look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Overland Park
Overland Park Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Overland Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.