We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inexpensive Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deanna Rose Children's Farmstead

Deanna Rose Children's Farmstead
13800 Switzer Rd, Overland Park, KS 66221
913-897-2360
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Inexpensive Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took our grandkids this weekend. It cost $2 a person to get in (under age 2 is free) and they had a lot of activities for the children. It was like a little village with all kinds of animals to see, horses, goats, chickens, pigs, bison, geese, prairie dogs, and a large gold fish pond. They had food machines where you could purchase food to feed the chickens or goats for a quarter. They also had multiple playgrounds and park benches or picnic tables to take breaks. They also had additional activities that required a fee, but we purchased a combo pack for $10 for one child and they were able to go mining for gems, bottle feed baby goats, go cane pole fishing with worms, a horse-drawn hay wagon ride, and ride the ponies. The pony ride was a very short one trip around a short path and they have to be 3 and older to ride. I wish we had more time to explore this place, but we will probably go back sometime, though we will probably wait until the grandchildren are a little older. Ours are 2 and 5. My thoughts that 6-9 years old would be a better aage.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    34
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“2nd Graders Loved It!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went on a field trip with my son's class and everyone had a great time! We visited a Native American dwelling replica with artifacts displayed. The guide was very informative and patient. Kids got to fish with bamboo poles and they all caught at least one fish each (catch and release). They were able to visit an old schoolhouse, boys put on overalls and girls put on flour sack-dresses and the "teacher" discussed differences between school now and then. Lastly, what kid doesn't love a goat petting zoo?!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent adventure for kids and their families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Deanna Rose offers so much fun for kids. Feeding the goats and chickens are always a highlight . The recreations of early farm life such as the old time school house, barns, fishing hole, feeding baby goats, etc adds up to hours of fun. There is much to explore and learn all over the farmstead. There is even a terrific playground with child friendly equipment. The only negative is several attractions like pony rides, mining for gold and fishing have extra fees involved that can add up.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun for little ones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great place for younger kids. Although I took my 12 year old daughter and she had a good time!

Lots of farm animals! You can rent a fishing pole, feed a goat or pan for gold.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very entertaining for children up to age 11.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been to the farmstead many times. It has been better every time. More features are added every year. Plenty of parking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deanna Rose Children's Farmstead also viewed

 

Been to Deanna Rose Children's Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deanna Rose Children's Farmstead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Deanna Rose Children's Farmstead to your Saves list