We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Like It Used To Be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Haywards Pit BBQ

Haywards Pit BBQ
11051 Antioch Rd, Overland Park, KS 66210
913) 451-8080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 409 Restaurants in Overland Park
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Like It Used To Be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This review is painful to write because I have been going to Haywards for almost 30 years. It used to be the place to go for great BBQ back in high school and college. I had the burnt ends for lunch and it was nothing special. As a couple other reviewers have mentioned, it would be nice to be able to put on my own amount of sauce. My lunch came pre-soaked. They also take the name "burnt end" to an extreme with over half the pieces of meat too tough to even put a fork into.

The service staff was nice & friendly, while the decor is the same as it was 20 years ago. I think I will stick to my fond memories of the place from the past, but I will probably not be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    8
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good sliced pork. OK brisket. Baby backs a bit dry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I tryed this place for the 1st time today. the service was very good. The atmosphere is about right for a decent BBQ place. Better than my normal places. I rate the food better than smokestack but not as good as LCs or Arthur Bryant's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“not the best bbq in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Too many other places for better bbq, it is non-comparable in my opinion and the atmosphere is nothing special at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNAPOLIS
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A KC Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Get the brisket and the ribs! Haywards is a Kansas City BBQ old standard. Haywards has with stood the test of time. In Kansas City they are SERIOUS about BBQ and if your "joint" is there for a long run - then you can rest assured it is great food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in KC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Haywards is one of several BBQ icons in KC and our family has gone there on many occasions and enjoyed every one.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haywards Pit BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Haywards Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haywards Pit BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.