We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens
8909 W. 179th St., Overland Park, KS
913/685-3604
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Pune
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A must visit for nature lovers. great collection of flowers and a must visit for photographers!!
I could not covers all the trails as it is very big. But the area that I covered was really very good.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    46
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“love love love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

There are natural trails and manicured gardens with walking paths. I enjoy the Monet type gardens and then head out to the natural trails to get lost in nature. I go as often as I can.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Nature Trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I couldn't care less about the gardens up front (though they are nice for those who like that), but the trails through the forest offer one of the best looks in urban Johnson County, KS, at a real forest. Birds, plants, insects, and everything else nature-related can be found and enjoyed here. Take a hike, and enjoy it! Watch out for mosquitoes though!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place is beautiful and admission is FREE! Bring some bug spray if you plan on venturing further into the woods. There is so much to see and the flowers are amazing!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ruined”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We used to enjoy this, but since they put in that statue, we can't take our family there anymore. It's got wonderful trails and nice variety between pretty gardens and quiet woods. But I don't need the city to be teaching my teenage son about sexting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.