We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore for hours with the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens

Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens
8909 W. 179th St., Overland Park, KS
913/685-3604
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kansas City, KS
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Explore for hours with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We love to be outside exploring. This large Arboretum is wonderful to get lost in nature. We will see new insects and mamals everytime . I have three boys and a girl and they will play imaginary games in the woods and trails. They like exploring the bluffs. You can walk for Miles if you want. There is also a kids section that we spend at least an hour in. There is a native grass maze that is fun for a game hide and seek. THere is a new train area with real train cars. It is not complete quite yet. Oh yeah, the front part has beautiful flower garders and a large pond. But with boys, flowers don't interest them. Great pictures by this amature have been taken all over the park. This is a must on any day. Bring your insect repellant, dog and good walking shoes.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    43
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful in spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Overland Park Arboretum is a place that we visit often. It is especially beautiful in spring when all of the flowers bloom. Very quiet and peaceful. The paths are paved or covered with wood chips to make getting around easier. There are covered picnic tables so that you can enjoy a picnic outdoors. The volunteers in the visitor's center are always nice and very knowledgeable.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Marvels Of Nature!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

This is a free attraction for those that can appreciate the Beauty of the Outdoors! My wife and 8 year old daughter enjoyed this peaceful setting, yet my 14 year old son found it boring! He couldn't seem to get into the whole Butterfly and Nature Thing! I personally enjoyed the peace and quite!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscaping and relaxing environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

You can stay on the main trails, which are wheelchair and stroller friendly or take a little trip to the off beaten tracks and really explore. The landscaping is beautiful and the grassy areas are well maintained. There is a creek that runs through the area and is great for kids to catch a small frog or two. You are allowed to bring in your own food and beverages, blankets, lawn chairs (we brought magnetic darts for the kids) and have a picnic. They have picnic tables in some areas. The best part of it all is - IT'S FREE!!!!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

The day we visited there were numerous artists painting and sketching. A very interesting thing to see. There are beautiful flowers and sculptures. A very serene place to walk and enjoy. I enjoy the trails that have side paths that dead end at benches. You can find a bench and just meditate, read or enjoy the quiet surroundings. I have yet to explore all of the acreage, but will enjoy going back for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.