We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down home service with a smile.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sirloin Stockade

Sirloin Stockade
2230 S Princeton St, Ottawa, KS 66067-4006
785-242-4329
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Ottawa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Description: The original Sirloin Stockade steakhouse and buffet concept has been satisfying guests since 1966. Today Sirloin Stockade offers an all-you-can-eat hot and cold buffet which includes hot entrees, vegetables and salads. The full-service bakery offers fresh rolls, pies, cakes and soft serve ice cream with a variety of toppings. Sirloin Stockade still provides guests good food at a great value!
Saint Simons Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Down home service with a smile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were working this area for several days and dined here twice. On both occasions the food was good and the service exceptional. The staff here go above and beyond to assure that you are completely satisfied with your meal. Excellent sweet tea!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Charged too much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

They had a sign by the side of the road that advertised one price and when we got in it was higher. Talk about bait and switch.

The food was a buffet with the usual salad bar, Mexican food, pizza and a small amount of Chinese food. They did have a grill where they had ribs, pork and sausage. The ribs and steak were not always out which was disappointing, but the grilled pork was tasty.

Some of the food was overlooked as it had been sitting too long, but overall it was ok for a buffet.

Still not happy about the bait and switch though so be careful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia C, Public Relations Manager at Sirloin Stockade, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are truly sorry for the confusion and thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to speak with you to learn more details if possible. Please contact us at stockadecompanies1@gmail.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“I keep coming back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Been here a couple of times before and I’m back so that should say something about the place.

I order my steak and then go and fill up a plate with other food. (Sorry, it was a week ago and a dozen resturants ago) I don’t remember what items I ate, but it was all good. I seemed to be one of the few that didn’t know the help, so they must have a lot of repeat customers. It was around 6 PM on a Saturday and the place was full, as fast as a table would empty and get cleared someone else would sit down.

I do remember that the place was well staffed, besides the guy doing the steaks, there were a couple more keeping an eye on the other meats. And there always seemed to be someone re-filling something.

(Just read my prior review after writing the above, doesn’t look like much has changed … I did have steak this time, med-well.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, Public Relations Manager at Sirloin Stockade, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Quality meals at affordable prices - its something every family deserves and we are sure glad you think Sirloin Stockade meets that standard! We are glad that you keep coming back. Thanks and we hope you will visit again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've eaten here several times. The food is good for buffet food. It's probably best to come when it's the busiest, so the food is fresher. Clean restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, Public Relations Manager at Sirloin Stockade, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We appreciate the review and look forward to your next visit to Sirloin Stockade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch there today. Friendly faces greet you at the door. Personable wait staff delivers your drinks and extras. Had a fresh crispy salad. Their grilled chicken is always a favorite. Today there were Mexican and Asian selections. Greenbeans and fried chicken are always good. It is so nice that the whole group can find something they are happy eating.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, Public Relations Manager at Sirloin Stockade, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for choosing Sirloin Stockade and the fabulous rating/review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sirloin Stockade also viewed

 

Been to Sirloin Stockade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirloin Stockade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.