We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but nothing open due to pipe break??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olathe Inn

Save Saved
You added Olathe Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olathe Inn
101 W. 151st Street, Olathe, KS 66061 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Olathe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel but nothing open due to pipe break??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel was clean and the rooms were average but the restaurant and bar were closed due to a pipe break. Evidently, it was that way for weeks. When the reservations were made nothing was said until our group asked about breakfast. The hotel didn't offer any discount for the inconvenience which I thought was very poor customer service. I doubt we will say there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Olathe Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Janeroses,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because of some facilities being closed due to the pipe break. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    7
    14
    14
See reviews for
15
6
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Strike 1: It took me a few minutes to realize why my key card was not working. Once you swipe the card you have to pull the handle UP! Not down! I called the front desk and they said this would be fixed.

Strike 2: The internet was soooo slow. I called the front desk and they gave me a number to call. I called the number. 20 minutes later they called back and said it was an access point issue. The problem was resolved. However, it kicks me off every so often and I have to sign back on.

Strike 3, which pissed me off to no end: I show up to breakfast at 9:05am. Not a soul to be found. I asked where was breakfast and they said it ends at 9am. Wait a minute, the very nice sign clearly says 10am. The response: "Well, that sign should be changed."

Strike 4: 3 days later the door handle is still not fixed, the internet still kicks me off, and finally the SIGN IS STILL UP!

I WOULD NOT STAY HERE EVEN IF THEY OFFERED ME A FREE ROOM!! An extra $10 will get me free breakfast and much better service at a Hampton Inn or Marriott.

Oh yeah, just to twist the knife. No elevators.
Oh yeah #2, static tv.

Room Tip: If there are absolutely no hotels left anywhere in a 20 mile radius, choose a room on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Olathe Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear ChicagoFunGuy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was an affordable, clean, well kept, older Holiday Inn. Rooms had everything we needed, there was ample parking, and a friendly staff. We had a good nights sleep and both check-in and check-out were very quick and easy. All rooms were smoke-free, air conditioning, TV, and internet service worked well. As for its location, it is just off I-35 next to he Olathe Medical Center and only a block away from the Great Plains Mall. In addition, since the motel's restaurant was closed for dinner, there are several good restaurants within a mile (we ate a Red Robbin). There is no free breakfast, but the restaurant is open and they have a breakfast bar for quick meals. That all worked for us since we needed our Starbucks fix and hot oatmeal. Overall this was a good stay at a good price. We will use this Holiday Inn if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very clean, great breakfast, and super friendly staff. Great price, lots of parking, and easy entrance points close to your room. Very close to major highways. Only issue one day was that our beds weren't made.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an older H I property with a big parking lot and a ballroom etc. The location is nice and there is a large mall across the street (although the mall is pretty dead). The price is one of the best for Holiday Inns in the KC area which helps a lot. The rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. So, overall a good value for the money. The breakfast is nothing to brag about but at least there is something available. So, I would say that if you are looking for a comfortable stay at a good price, this is a good choice. Jo at the front desk is very pleasant (and not hard to look at either ;-).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I liked this hotel for the money. No free breakfast, bit the restraunt on property is very good. Will stay again when I'm in the area. The only problem I had was the fire alarm went off for less than 30 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

For those of us that can't stand listening to the TV or loud conversation in the next room I would recommend that you stay somewhere else. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean but I could not sleep because the TV in the next room was on until 3AM.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Olathe Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Field M,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olathe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olathe Inn

Address: 101 W. 151st Street, Olathe, KS 66061 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Kansas > Olathe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Olathe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Olathe Inn is a 3 minute walk to the Olathe Medical Center and shopping at the Great Mall, and less than 5 miles from the MidAmerica Nazarene University, Ernie Miller Nature Center and the Mahaffie Stagecoach Shop and Farm. With easy access to Interstate 35, it is a short 25 mile drive to downtown Kansas City from the Olathe Inn.Guests of the Olathe Inn can enjoy a full hot breakfast, outdoor seasonal pool, and pets are always welcome with an additional fee. Other amenities are free high speed wireless internet, business center, free parking, and guest laundry facilities. All rooms are appointed with free high speed wireless internet access, coffee maker, hair dryer, alarm clock radio, cable TV with extra stations, iron and board, free local calls and air conditioning and heating units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Olathe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Olathe-Great Plains Mall Area Hotel Olathe
Olathe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olathe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.