We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, horrible to zero food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olathe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Olathe Inn to your Saves list
Olathe Inn
101 W. 151st Street, Olathe, KS 66061 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, horrible to zero food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

GOOD HOTEL: This is a really clean nice and comfortable hotel with a pleasant and customer service oriented staff. Comfortable beds. Two sets of elevators. Easy access from parking out back; no parking out front door.

HORRIBLE BREAKFAST: Breakfast was just about the worst I ever experienced. Very small selection. Eggs were all dried out on the buffet, so I ordered eggs from the menu. The cook apparently had never cooked eggs before...they were equally bad.

ZERO FOOD: I arranged to meet two locals in the lobby for lunch. This hotel doesn't serve lunch, you have to drive to a restaurant. And of course there was no dinner served either, which was probably just as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Olathe Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear BillandPattiLee,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am delighted that you liked our hotel facilities and customer service oriented staff. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary performance with regard to breakfast selection and food availability. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    7
    14
    14
See reviews for
15
6
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am shocked to see some of the other postings about this hotel. As we entered the lobby, it was beautifully done with two fabulous chandeliers. That evening, Wayne, the maintainence man, explained in detail how the chandeliers were assembled and the renovations that were done to the hotel. (We enjoy talking with members of the hotel staff, since they are the ones that know the most about the hotel.) We made changes to our room when we arrived, changing it from 2 queen beds to 1 king without any problems, they were happy to accommadate our request. The gal at the front desk was helpful and cheery with a beautiful smile. Ryan, the gentleman at the front desk (he may have been the manager) was very pleasant, giving us a mini-tour of the hotel. Making sure that we knew how to get to the out-door pool (which averages about 85-90 degrees) and hot tub, where all the vending machines were and the location of the restaurant. He even made sure that we parked at the nearest enterance so we didn't have to walk very far. Our room was very nicely done, clean and roomy, the A/C worked well, the towels were fresh, soft and very white. I loved the bed...best nights sleep of the entire trip! Although the hot tub was a bit out dated, it was about 103 degrees, prefect to relax in without getting too overheated. I would recommend this hotel since it is also very close to the Mall and the Medical Center and the restaurant serving sizes were very ample, the room was clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Just about any place in the hotel would be good since our room was in the front of the hotel where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a quick stay there this weekend. Price was good, they were able to pick me up at local airport, and as a priority member I got my free breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable, the only compliant I would have was there was no extra blankets. Meet my needs fine

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Staying here should be your last resort. The place smells, they don't clean the floors on a regular basis and the A/C didn't work most of the time. When I asked the front desk to have someone look at the A/C for my room the manager told me not to expect my room to be that cool, it wasn't possible. When I checked out they didn't ask how my stay was.

Room Tip: Stay at the Embassy Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Olathe Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear beluga01,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the air conditioning issue you experienced. With the extreme heat we have seen for some time now, I understand the discomfort this caused you and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Front desk clerk was not welcoming at all. Got to my room and it was the only room on the second floor without a balcony. Requested to move rooms, and was placed in a room with a balcony, but the door to the balcony was broken. Room also had two queen beds, and ONE towel. Decided to hit the pool that looked really nice from a glance,it was disgusting. Brown film on top of the water, and the walls of the pool were filthy. Bed was comfortable,but not near enough to warrant an additional stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Olathe Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear zephyrgirl9,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am happy you found our beds to be comfortable. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the condition of the pool, room accommodations and services received from our front desk staff. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our room ac was hot, noisy and smelly. We were changed to another room after my 2 complaints to management. The 2nd room was hot and floors were terribly stained. We were transferred to another room that had better ac. It was even by the pool. It's obvious that you have to pay for the more expensive rooms to have an ac that can actually be controlled by the customer. Next time I will try Days Inn. We dropped an expensive pair of RX sunglasses while carrying luggage to our room. Went to pick them up and they were gone-stolen by another guest I assume. Hotel offered no compensation for a $250 pair of sunglasses. The spa didn't work most of the time. The pool temp was colder the 2nd @ 3rd days. The breakfast buffet was very good though.

Room Tip: You pay for what you get-remember that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Where to begin? Room was hot. Turned thermostat to 60 hoping it would cool. It did not. And after repeated calls and returns to desk still no help. The pool has a green appearance. Only two towels are put in room after cleaning. Rooms are very small. NO ELEVATORS!!! Bathrooms are very small. Good points air works in lobby and the breakfast is good.

WILL NOT STAY AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Olathe Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear awful-2012,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Olathe and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. I am delighted you found the breakfast to be good. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the air conditioning issue you experienced. With the extreme heat we have seen in the city for some time now, I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olathe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olathe Inn

Address: 101 W. 151st Street, Olathe, KS 66061 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Kansas > Olathe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Olathe Inn is a 3 minute walk to the Olathe Medical Center and shopping at the Great Mall, and less than 5 miles from the MidAmerica Nazarene University, Ernie Miller Nature Center and the Mahaffie Stagecoach Shop and Farm. With easy access to Interstate 35, it is a short 25 mile drive to downtown Kansas City from the Olathe Inn.Guests of the Olathe Inn can enjoy a full hot breakfast, outdoor seasonal pool, and pets are always welcome with an additional fee. Other amenities are free high speed wireless internet, business center, free parking, and guest laundry facilities. All rooms are appointed with free high speed wireless internet access, coffee maker, hair dryer, alarm clock radio, cable TV with extra stations, iron and board, free local calls and air conditioning and heating units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Olathe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Olathe-Great Plains Mall Area Hotel Olathe
Olathe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olathe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.