We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sausage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Joe's Bar-B-Que

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smokin' Joe's Bar-B-Que
519 E Santa Fe St, Olathe, KS 66061
(913) 780-5511
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 207 Restaurants in Olathe
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent sausage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

An Olathe institution. Service is quick and food is great. I ordered the sausage and really enjoyed it. Not a very big place but glad I stopped there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay far, far away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had not been here in years. And I will never go back........
It was just plain bad. Pulled into their parking lot around 4pm on a Sat after thanksgiving, no other cars were there. Bad sign. The brisket was so tough and flavorless. Tasted like it was originally prepared weeks ago. The white bread was so stale, it broke apart after my first attempt at a bite of my sandwich. The ham was not much better, at least it was edible. Hubby had ribs and brisket dinner. Ribs were the best part of the meal. They were not too smokey, but had a decent taste. The dinner came with slaw, beans and fries. The slaw was old tasting too. Must not have prepared any new food and decided to clean out their walkin today... really bad food, all the way around, what a shame!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy....just the way BBQ was meant to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We are a BBQ-loving family and Smokin' Joe's is one of our favorites. It is an old, outdated little restaurants (just how I like my BBQ joints) and the food is good. Enough said.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So, so, expected more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Was expecting more, the meat was not super tender. Bar B Que sauce just ok to my tastebuds. Servers very nice and fast service!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Smokin Joe's is the best BBQ in and around Olathe. Don't miss the burnt ends. The sauce is very good. The hot is the best but be ready....it is HOT! You cant miss the onion rings. Golden brown and some of the best. The cole slaw is made with a family recipe and is teriffic. Matt is the owner so stop by and say Hi. You will make this one of your regular stops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Joe's Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Joe's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' Joe's Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.