We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drove 700 Miles.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que

Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que
11950 South Strang Line Road, Olathe, KS 66062
(913) 782-6858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 187 Restaurants in Olathe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Flint, MI
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Drove 700 Miles.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My buddy and I drove 700 miles from Michigan to eat at Oklahoma Joe's, we were not disappointed. I had the burnt ends and was blown away!! The meat melted in my mouth!! I've had the best cole slaw this mouth has ever tasted here (sorry mom). Don't let the fact that this is connected to a gas station scare you, it is the best BBQ place in the Kansas City area and quite frankly in all of the US!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    125
    45
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

From the delectable meats, to the delicious side dishes, this meal was a major hit with all our family!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“We were lucky to get in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

There always seems to be a line to get into Oklahoma Joe's. We went about an hour before they closed so I think we were lucky they we didn't have to wait too long to eat. We are going to go to the one in KC the next day but that line was a block long....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“mmmmm. bbq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Best I ever had. Great ribs. Must have burnt ends. Good local beer to boot. The line is worth it. Trust.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Exactly how the locals explain it. Inside a gas station! we took our food to go as we were on our way out of town.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Kansas City Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.