We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as the original.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oklahoma Joe's BBQ

Oklahoma Joe's BBQ
11950 South Strang Line Road, Olathe, KS 66062
(913) 782-6858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 207 Restaurants in Olathe
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just as good as the original.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The food is just as good as the original. With half the way time. Call in is still faster. The atmosphere is the big difference between the two restaurants. Still great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    110
    41
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Great BBQ!!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Living in Kansas City there are plenty of BBQ choices. And there are a couple of famous places that are simply more hype than good BBQ. Oklahoma Joe's is not simply just 'hype' it is simply just 'Great BBQ!!!'. I love their Cowtown Night of the Living Barbeque Sauce. The fries are great as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BBQ Friday's - A Great Family Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ordered a full slab of ribs and order of fries to take home to the family. We have tried to go to other places for our BBQ Fridays, but there is none better than Oklahoma Joe's. There were 15-20 people in line at 8:45 pm. It is very easy to place a phone order and then enjoy your meal at home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, IA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been looking for a reason to get to Oklahoma Joe's for a long time, and a recent trip took me through Olathe, KS, so we set our sights on BBQ. I was a little concerned when we pulled up a little after noon during the work week with a line almost out the door. Since we were in no particular hurry, we decided to wait. We were pleasantly surprised to find our wait was probably less than 10 minutes to get through the line, and our food was waiting for us as we paid. It was incredibly fast. Plenty of available seating meant that even though they were busy, we were not caught holding trays of food waiting for a table.

I had a brisket dinner with a side of beans and 2 bones of rib. Brisket was tender, moist and delicious. The ribs were sweet and meat pulled right off the bone. Even the beans were wonderful.

Oklahoma Joe's is now my favorite BBQ place in the KC area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“GREAT BBQ!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm not sure I've had bad BBQ in KC. I've had BBQ I like better than others...but nothing bad. We read all the reviews about Oklahoma Joe's BBQ and they live up to the hype! Very, very good. They have a variety of BBQ sauces to choose from. I love pulled pork and they don't disappoint. The fries are great.

They are closed on Sundays.... :-(

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oklahoma Joe's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Oklahoma Joe's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oklahoma Joe's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.