We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to go see this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahaffie Stagecoach Stop & Farm Historic Site

Mahaffie Stagecoach Stop & Farm Historic Site
1200 Kansas City Road, Olathe, KS
913-971-5111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Olathe
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Dothan, Alabama
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“You have to go see this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is an interesting trip back in time. We enjoyed the demonstrations that were going on; someone was churning butter and the blacksmith was at work.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisburg, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Have been there twice with school groups and both times were great! The people working there do a great job with the kids and making everything interesting. Kids get to saw wood, help the blacksmith, write with a quill, ride in a stagecoach and more! Definitely worthwhile!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The tour is educational & interesting. Great place to take kids. I had no idea there was a historical place with this kind of history so nearby.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“On a day with activities, it was REALLY fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family has enjoyed this Historic site numerous times. We like the farmhouse tours, and the stagecoach rides. Last weekend we went as part of a Cub Scout event, and the farm came to life even more. We were able to harvest corn, make apple cider, saw a log and more! Definitely worth a stop anytime--if there are events going on, even better!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
159 attraction reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stopped to get some National Historic Trail stamps and this place was amazing. They have a nice small museum with lots of cool interactive displays, but the real rush is to go out and see the working farm. The house has a great docents and you even get to take a ride a stagecoach. Let me tell you, it's pretty bumpy. Kids will love this place and there is plenty to learn for parents.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahaffie Stagecoach Stop & Farm Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Mahaffie Stagecoach Stop & Farm Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahaffie Stagecoach Stop & Farm Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.