We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than I Expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kmacho's Mexican Restaurant and Cantina

Kmacho's Mexican Restaurant and Cantina
1229 E Santa Fe, Olathe, KS 66061-3765
913-768-7777
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 207 Restaurants in Olathe
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better Than I Expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Taking the recommendation of a friend, the family and I went to K-Macho's Restaurant this evening. I would highly recommend it. From the beautiful decor and spacious dining room, to the food, great bar it was an excellent experience. I had the Tres Amigas, three enchiladas, one with ground beef and spinach dip, one with chicken and verde sauce and the third with cheese and chile gravy. Different cheeses used on each. I also sampled the Carbon Fajita Chimi w/Champagne Sauce and all of them were excellent. The Charro Beans as a side are wonderful. Price is very reasonable for the amount of food you get.

After you're done eating, take some time and go next door to their Mexican Market for a fun unique experience and check out their deli, butcher shop, fresh veggies and amazing pastries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great new Mexican restaurant but the wait staff needs some work. We had to ask four times for more salsa and drink refills. The food came out fast and everything was great other than the service. We will definitely return and hopefully the service will improve.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Lunch Special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stopped in for lunch at the suggestion of a co-worker. We both had the lunch special which was chipotle chicken. It came with beans and rice. We were provided with a large both of chips and three different dipping sauces. The food was tasty without being over spicy. The service was fast, friendly and efficient. Overall, good experience and lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good Food, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our first visit to K-Macho's was OK. The food is good but I don't think it's the best Mexican in Olathe. The big drawback for us was the service. It was incredibly slow. There was also a live band, which ordinarily would be fine. But our table was right next to the speakers, which meant it was hard to hold a conversation at our table. If I'm looking for a place just to be different, I might come here. Otherwise, I'll head to Frontera's to satisfy my Mexican cravings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Large party - Bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Maybe it was just the waiter but we had a large party for a Saturday lunch and it was a disaster. The waiter was almost surly and orders were wrong. Have to point to management for part of the criticism, most times parties of 10 or more should be handled by two waitstaff to ensure timeliness of simple things like drink orders. We will try one more time but the food was not remarkable either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kmacho's Mexican Restaurant and Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Kmacho's Mexican Restaurant and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kmacho's Mexican Restaurant and Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.