We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay after a hard day of work.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Olathe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Olathe to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Olathe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12080 South Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay after a hard day of work.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here 12-13 weeks in total for business. This place is perfect for business travellers.
All the peoplethat work there are friendly and helpfull.

Here is a list of pro's and con's.

Pro:
- The staff, front desk and restaurant staffare great, friendly, helpfull and very good with people.
- The restaurant is a good place to eat or have a drink, the bar has a good entertaining bartender!
- When you come back from a hard day of work you can always relaxe in the pool or the spa.
- Very clean hotel.
- Clean and new fitness center.
- Fresh omelette station is a good addition for the breakfast.

Cons:
- Since they aim for business people a pool table, or fun room would not be out of place.
- Cold breakfast is rather small, it should have more options like croissants or some cheese.

I give this hotel a top rating since this is one of the best hotels I have ever been.

Keep up the good work guys!

Regards
A Belgian guest

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    30
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
29
8
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Really a very nice addition to the Olathe hotel scene. I had family stay here and had an opportunity to view most aspects of the hotel without actually sleeping there.

First, everything is still fresh and new and clean. The views from the top floor are quite nice, even if it's just of suburbia. The situation of the hotel means you'll end up with either a really good sunrise or sunset view, especially if you're on the 4th, 5th or 6th floors.

Rooms have everything you need - large TV, plenty of channels, comfortable beds, nice desk and comfortable chair, and even a fridge. Bathrooms are of good size.

The common areas are equally as nice. The lobby has some great seating, including a slightly hidden 8 person table and TV that we used one night to have pizza. You can also grab a drink from the bar and enjoy it in the lobby area.

Pool area is nice but a bit chlorine-ey. The gym is small but has great machines.

Johnny's Italian Steakhouse, which I visited on a separate occasion, is quite delicious with great service. Drinks at the bar are expensive, but tasty. However, breakfast is also served here and its a tale of two breakfasts. One (Saturday) was quick, efficient, well stocked. On Sunday, however, something was really wrong and everything was slow and of poorer quality. Consistency appears to be weak.

The area has plenty of options for food and drink, but it is suburbia so don't expect much beyond chains, be them local chains or national chains.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was thrilled to find a suite large enough to host 12 people of all ages for a night before Christmas Eve party. The suite was perfect, the staff was friendly and helpful. Coming from out of town but wanting to host a family get together isn't easy. I didn't want a sterile banquet hall. The Hilton Garden Inn offered me the chance to be with my family in a warm family room setting. It couldn't have been any better!

Room Tip: The room I had was not the largest suite but it had a bedroom, huge bathroom and very large living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I am a Diamond member with Hilton and hit up a lot of their properties, including those in this area 4-5 times a year. This is my first time staying at this particular property and I have been very pleased. Several of the other hotels in the area are frequented by a lot of business travelers like myself and they are getting a little threadbare. This place is brand new and has many amenities that are above and beyond what I would expect from an HGI. The bar and restaurant in particular seem more in line with a higher "brand" property like a full Hilton or an ALOFT hotel. Very trendy but comfortable.

The only drawback was minor. The breakfast buffet (for purchase or comp with Gold status or better) is served in the steakhouse. Its a little dark and at around 6:45am or so a bit understaffed. There was no one to be found at the omelette station, and it was a little unclear for some patrons if it was self service and open seating or not. It also appeared it was unclear for some that the breakfast was not included for all rooms. Most HGIs have signage and it's bit clearer.

Overall I think this is far and away the best option out here and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

They yelled at me and my friends for being out of our room. I wouldnt go there if suspect good service. The lobby is nice, and the halls and rooms are nice but the workers are just terrible. They don't let you speak. They just rudely tell you to leave. So if you want good people, I highly suggest not going to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just a local getaway. The hotel is very new, nice and clean. The staff was very nice and there is plenty to do in the area.

The pool and hot tub area is very pretty BUT you feel like you are in the parking lot on display. The area is in the very front of the hotel with floor to ceiling glass walls. I could just imagine someone accidently driving their car into the pool. They should perhaps frost the lower portion of the glass for some privacy and maybe put in some large landscaping rocks for safety. The pool water was FREEZING and as for the hot tub, I take hotter baths at home. The hot tub was also very foamy. By the time we got back to our room, our skin was burning and even after showers, we could still smell the chlorine.

The room was nice. We stayed in a 2 Queen room. The beds were very comfy and the heater wasn't too loud. The bathroom, for some reason, seemed to have been created for a 6'5" man. As a 5'4" woman, I could hardly reach the shower head to adjust it. The water flow is very low. When using the toilet, the toilet paper was out of reach. I was actually afraid that my kids were going to fall trying to get to it themselves. When in the shower, the curtain appeared to have yellow stains, but then you realize that its actually the pattern of the curtain.

The ice/vending is nicely located away from all of the rooms. The room was nice and quiet. Plenty of close parking (right by the pool).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

One of my employees and I stated at the Hilton Garden Inn in Olathe last week for five nights..Several times during the stay we said "this place is awesome." We are total road warriors, we travel all over the country, and stay in hotels two weeks a months..we know what a good hotel is..and this place is simply great in every way. The hotel is brand new, the rooms are very large, and have higher end everything. There is a great restaurant and bar..get the steak! There is a great room service..this aint the average Hilton Garden Inn folks.
I met the GM, Chris..and his right hand person, Rebecca..and I can see why the place is so nice, these two are real workers..they are hospitality pros! This would be a great place for a big business meeting, or a good sized wedding as well..you never have to leave.
Take it from a road warrior, this place is a fine hotel, especially for the money..cant miss.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet..no worries about road noise. They even have doors on the vending areas so you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Olathe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Olathe

Address: 12080 South Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Olathe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Olathe 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service Olathe, Kansas hotel provides convenience to several area businesses and ample amenities for business travelers. Onsite, guests will enjoy the award-winning Johnny's Italian Steakhouse, 2,600 sq. ft. of stylish meeting space, 24-hour business center, whirlpool and fitness center. Guest rooms and suites are spacious and feature free WiFi, remote printing, comfortable work areas, 37-inch flat panel televisions, in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Book your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Olathe and experience convenience and comfort at a great price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Olathe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Olathe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.