We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Olathe

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Olathe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Olathe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12081 S. Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Olathe
St. Louis, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good hotel with a real-food breakfast and excellent staff. Rooms are clean and offer refrigerator & microwave. Amenities & highway access are very close to hotel making it a convenient choice for business travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
12
3
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

While the staff couldn't have been nicer, the hotel itself was not up to Hampton Inn standards. My room was run down and in much needed TLC. Peeling paint and banged up walls in a small room compared to other Hamptons I have stayed at. I was very suprised at the wear and tear of this property. I am a huge HI fan and I have to say I was a bit disappointed in this one. Not to easy to navigate around this one either. Way to many hallways as compared to other Hamptons. I have to say, I think I liked the Holiday Inn Express across the street a little better as far as the rooms go but the breakfast here is much much better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POTEAU, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location of hotel was easy to get to with plenty of parking. Hotel was clean with pleasant staff. Rooms were very comfortable with everything that I needed for my stay. Breakfast was hot and had a very good taste. Checking in and out was very easy. When calling for reservations, the staff was very helpful and polite on phone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The staff at this hotel was very friendly, helpful and efficient. They greeted you coming and going. The room was in great shape and and very clean. If i had one thing to feel negative about, it would be the size of the pool. However, swimming is not a high priority. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great place to stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
426 reviews 426 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm a super huge fan of Hampton Inns, they always seem so fresh, clean, crisp and new. I'm guessing that this was either an older Hampton Inn or one that had been remodeled into a Hampton Inn because it looked like an older hotel and they were painting the exterior when I was there.

The lobby is modern and clean and bright and the front desk folks were as nice as I've experienced. Unfortunately, my room was a bit of a letdown. The bed and pillows were great, but I could clearly hear folks in the next room, something I'm not used to at all in a Hampton Inn. That's what causes me to think that maybe they remodeled another hotel into a Hampton Inn instead of it being the usual sound-proof hotel that the others have been. Also, the bathroom door opens into a super tight little area which also houses the microwave and fridge. And, it's riding on the carpet so tightly that you really have to pull / push it open to get it to open all the way. The microwave and fridge cabinet really should be moved next to the TV where it should have been in the first place. That little alcove that they're crammed into should be the area where your luggage rack goes so you can put your suitcase / bag there. It's not the best design, in my opinion. The clincher was being able to hear folks talking / yelling / laughing in the room next door. It would be almost impossible to cure this problem now that the hotel is built and occupied, but it's something to think about. On the plus side, there was no door-slamming sounds! A definite plus in my book.

The breakfast was great, with little omelets and sausages and real oatmeal like all Hampton Inns have. They also had my favorite (on my first morning there), hardboiled eggs. There was also excellent, dark coffee (and, lighter roast and decaf, too), all sorts of teas and juices and milk, breads and a waffle maker and just everything you've come to expect in a nice hotel. The second morning was a bit off since they didn't have any hardboiled eggs. But, there were enough other things to eat that it wasn't a huge problem, although, nothing with protein other than biscuits and gravy and those little omelets again. I don't eat those because I'm watching my trans-fat intake, and maybe they don't have any in them, but hardboiled eggs are for sure safe.. that's why I was bummed when they didn't have any the second morning. But, enough of that, it was a great, well-stocked breakfast area with tons of great seating in a really nice room.

The workout room seemed to always have people in it on the treadmill or a stationary bike. The pool also always seemed to have someone in it, usually kids with parents also either in the pool with them or watching from a table on the side of the pool. The area of the hotel is filled with (mainly) chain restaurants and fast food places so you should be able to find something to eat within walking distance easily. Take care crossing the road though, traffic ZIPS along there, wow!

Overall, it's a great hotel and I would probably stay there again; or I might try the Hilton Garden Inn across the street. That hotel looks brand new and although the breakfast wouldn't be included there I might find the rooms to be newer and quieter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed three nights with our family. The hotel is quite larger than expected. The breakfast area is large and served a very good breakfast. Staff was always visible during our stay, and was very helpful when needed. They were about to complete their exterior painting, and looked like the interior was refurbished recently. Room was nice and clean, with an unexpected small fridge and microwave. The hotel is near a number of nice dining options, along with shopping and a very nice movie theater. I honestly can't think of anything that did not meet or exceed my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

during my stay there were several 12 year old baseball tournament teams staying at the hotel. Even thou there were a lot of excited athletes staying at the hotel, the service was still outstanding. They were also doing some remodeling and the inside and outside of the hotel was extremely clean

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Olathe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Olathe

Address: 12081 S. Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Olathe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Olathe
#3 Business Hotel in Olathe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Olathe 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Dining and Entertainment center of Olathe, our property offers it all within walking distance of the Hotel. Whether your here on business or pleasure, you can enjoy eating at some of the best places to dine, shop until you drop with some retail therapy, then come back to the Hotel after a hard day's work to relax and unwind in our whirlpool. Our 24 hour staff is 100% committed in making your visit an enjoyable stay so you'll keep coming back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Olathe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Olathe Hotel Olathe
Olathe Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Olathe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.