We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Olathe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Olathe to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Olathe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12081 S. Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
528 reviews 528 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm a super huge fan of Hampton Inns, they always seem so fresh, clean, crisp and new. I'm guessing that this was either an older Hampton Inn or one that had been remodeled into a Hampton Inn because it looked like an older hotel and they were painting the exterior when I was there.

The lobby is modern and clean and bright and the front desk folks were as nice as I've experienced. Unfortunately, my room was a bit of a letdown. The bed and pillows were great, but I could clearly hear folks in the next room, something I'm not used to at all in a Hampton Inn. That's what causes me to think that maybe they remodeled another hotel into a Hampton Inn instead of it being the usual sound-proof hotel that the others have been. Also, the bathroom door opens into a super tight little area which also houses the microwave and fridge. And, it's riding on the carpet so tightly that you really have to pull / push it open to get it to open all the way. The microwave and fridge cabinet really should be moved next to the TV where it should have been in the first place. That little alcove that they're crammed into should be the area where your luggage rack goes so you can put your suitcase / bag there. It's not the best design, in my opinion. The clincher was being able to hear folks talking / yelling / laughing in the room next door. It would be almost impossible to cure this problem now that the hotel is built and occupied, but it's something to think about. On the plus side, there was no door-slamming sounds! A definite plus in my book.

The breakfast was great, with little omelets and sausages and real oatmeal like all Hampton Inns have. They also had my favorite (on my first morning there), hardboiled eggs. There was also excellent, dark coffee (and, lighter roast and decaf, too), all sorts of teas and juices and milk, breads and a waffle maker and just everything you've come to expect in a nice hotel. The second morning was a bit off since they didn't have any hardboiled eggs. But, there were enough other things to eat that it wasn't a huge problem, although, nothing with protein other than biscuits and gravy and those little omelets again. I don't eat those because I'm watching my trans-fat intake, and maybe they don't have any in them, but hardboiled eggs are for sure safe.. that's why I was bummed when they didn't have any the second morning. But, enough of that, it was a great, well-stocked breakfast area with tons of great seating in a really nice room.

The workout room seemed to always have people in it on the treadmill or a stationary bike. The pool also always seemed to have someone in it, usually kids with parents also either in the pool with them or watching from a table on the side of the pool. The area of the hotel is filled with (mainly) chain restaurants and fast food places so you should be able to find something to eat within walking distance easily. Take care crossing the road though, traffic ZIPS along there, wow!

Overall, it's a great hotel and I would probably stay there again; or I might try the Hilton Garden Inn across the street. That hotel looks brand new and although the breakfast wouldn't be included there I might find the rooms to be newer and quieter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    45
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
49
16
3
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed three nights with our family. The hotel is quite larger than expected. The breakfast area is large and served a very good breakfast. Staff was always visible during our stay, and was very helpful when needed. They were about to complete their exterior painting, and looked like the interior was refurbished recently. Room was nice and clean, with an unexpected small fridge and microwave. The hotel is near a number of nice dining options, along with shopping and a very nice movie theater. I honestly can't think of anything that did not meet or exceed my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

during my stay there were several 12 year old baseball tournament teams staying at the hotel. Even thou there were a lot of excited athletes staying at the hotel, the service was still outstanding. They were also doing some remodeling and the inside and outside of the hotel was extremely clean

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a very clean and nice location. You are very accomodating and helped to make my stay more enjoyable. Everything about this hotel is nice and extremely clean. Your breakfast have some much to offer. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed 4 nights for a business trip from 7/14 - 7/18. I selected this hotel because It's a Hampton Inn, and I know the bed linens will be clean. Plus, free breakfast is always appreciated.

The room was of adequate size with a king-sized bed, a couch and a desk. The bed was very comfortable, with a nice mixture of different pillows. There is a small refrigerator, a microwave and a coffee pot in the room. The bathroom was clean and in good condition. Shower water temperature was constant and flow was very good. The shower curtain was a little short, and usually popped out of the tub early in the shower.

I was in room 340, which must be beneath some electrical equipment on the roof; there was a periodic hum 24 hrs a day (about every second). I'm a light sleeper, so it kept me awake. Turning the fan on the A/C didn't drown it out. It can be barely heard in the hallway, so I suspect rooms 335-346 all had the same issue. It sounded like it was resonating through the wall that separates the bathroom from the bedroom, right next to the bed. The hotel was completely booked, or I would've changed rooms.

The free breakfast was very good, with a decent selection of hot and cold foods. There was a conference going on for 3 days while I was there, so the breakfast room was pretty busy around 7:00 AM, but had no problem finding a place to sit. Complimentary copies of USA today are available at the entrance to the breakfast area.

The location is great - there are plenty of places to eat within a short walk, including fast food and a pretty good BBQ place. There's a convenience store adjacent to the property, and a Super Target across the street, in case you forgot something.

As henbacker said, the exterior is being painted. They were still at it on 7/18, but didn't start very early so they didn't disturb the guests.

I will definately stay here again - staff was very friendly, and seemed concerned when I requested a room change due to the noise. Next time I will request a room away from that area on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 335 - 346 if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s cal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Near major roads ,shopping centers and restaurants . Very pleasant staff and comfortable rooms with refrigerator plus indoor pool and spa . Seemed a little pricey for Olathe in July or any other time for that matter

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Hampton seems to be one that was originally another brand, as it has an odd layout compared to most Hampton Inns. Although not bad, it needs some polish to reach typical Hampton standards. When we stayed (7/12-7/14), they were busy painting the exterior (perhaps to match standard Hampton Inns more?). Until you get used to it, access to (and even finding) the property can be a bit of a challenge, especially in the dark.

We stayed on the third floor and noticed that, while the wing in which we stayed was non-smoking (as desired), other wings on the same floor appeared to have smoking rooms (the door plates did not have no smoking signs on them). Our room fit the standard size for a two queen bed room in a Hampton, but had significant cosmetic issues ranging from decent size black streaks on the walls to badly nicked furniture. At night, you can't help but notice the property's main A/C (?) unit (not the room unit), as it drones away and lightly vibrates the entire room all night and day long; I'm not sure much could be done to fix this.

Front desk service was a bit weak. When we checked in (admittedly it was at the end of local rush hour, so staff nerves may have been a bit frayed by then) we were greeted by an attitude of almost "please go to your room already" more than a "how can I help you get to your room". Not a deal breaker, but not something you expect at Hampton Inns. Later that night, one of our party needed some Advil, so I went to the front desk to ask for some ... while they did pleasantly look for some, they could not find any (and I could not help but notice there was no other supply of similar items on sale anywhere in the hotel, so you'd better not forget your toothbrush either!) ... again, not a deal breaker with a SuperTarget nearby, but definitely not what we've grown used to with Hampton Inns.

They had the standard Hampton options for breakfast, perhaps with more options per day than usual. The breakfast room was spacious and easy to find seating for all of our family members. The pool and hot tub were nice, and not too crowded. Parking was ample.

With some tweaks, this will make it up to the Hampton standard, but right now it is not quite there.

Room Tip: See if you can get away from the property's generator / main HVAC unit unless you like being vib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Olathe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Olathe

Address: 12081 S. Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Olathe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Olathe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Olathe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Dining and Entertainment center of Olathe, our property offers it all within walking distance of the Hotel. Whether your here on business or pleasure, you can enjoy eating at some of the best places to dine, shop until you drop with some retail therapy, then come back to the Hotel after a hard day's work to relax and unwind in our whirlpool. Our 24 hour staff is 100% committed in making your visit an enjoyable stay so you'll keep coming back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Olathe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Olathe Hotel Olathe
Olathe Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Olathe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.