We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Olathe

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Olathe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Olathe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12081 S. Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Olathe
s cal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“3 day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Near major roads ,shopping centers and restaurants . Very pleasant staff and comfortable rooms with refrigerator plus indoor pool and spa . Seemed a little pricey for Olathe in July or any other time for that matter

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
12
3
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Hampton seems to be one that was originally another brand, as it has an odd layout compared to most Hampton Inns. Although not bad, it needs some polish to reach typical Hampton standards. When we stayed (7/12-7/14), they were busy painting the exterior (perhaps to match standard Hampton Inns more?). Until you get used to it, access to (and even finding) the property can be a bit of a challenge, especially in the dark.

We stayed on the third floor and noticed that, while the wing in which we stayed was non-smoking (as desired), other wings on the same floor appeared to have smoking rooms (the door plates did not have no smoking signs on them). Our room fit the standard size for a two queen bed room in a Hampton, but had significant cosmetic issues ranging from decent size black streaks on the walls to badly nicked furniture. At night, you can't help but notice the property's main A/C (?) unit (not the room unit), as it drones away and lightly vibrates the entire room all night and day long; I'm not sure much could be done to fix this.

Front desk service was a bit weak. When we checked in (admittedly it was at the end of local rush hour, so staff nerves may have been a bit frayed by then) we were greeted by an attitude of almost "please go to your room already" more than a "how can I help you get to your room". Not a deal breaker, but not something you expect at Hampton Inns. Later that night, one of our party needed some Advil, so I went to the front desk to ask for some ... while they did pleasantly look for some, they could not find any (and I could not help but notice there was no other supply of similar items on sale anywhere in the hotel, so you'd better not forget your toothbrush either!) ... again, not a deal breaker with a SuperTarget nearby, but definitely not what we've grown used to with Hampton Inns.

They had the standard Hampton options for breakfast, perhaps with more options per day than usual. The breakfast room was spacious and easy to find seating for all of our family members. The pool and hot tub were nice, and not too crowded. Parking was ample.

With some tweaks, this will make it up to the Hampton standard, but right now it is not quite there.

Room Tip: See if you can get away from the property's generator / main HVAC unit unless you like being vib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location was right off the highway with a multitude of restaurants and stores, many you could walk to. The staff was very nice and the hotel was clean. However it does need some TLC especially in the bathrooms. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn-Olathe. We were treated like family. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our first visit to Kansas City. The complimentary breakfast was OUTSTANDING! The warm cookies at the front desk were a nice touch -- very welcoming and a DELICIOUS evening snack. A variety of hot beverages at anytime + snack lunches for on-the-go business travelers were another touch-of-class. Great value + Quality accommodations + Super service = We will definitely stay here during any return visits to the KC-area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

For business travel, Hamptons are always my first choice. They are clean, comfortable and consistent with their service. This one does not dissapoint in any which way.

The hotel seemed to be recently redone. It was nicely decorated, rooms were very comfortable and you could not beat the location. Many resturants and shopping near by, right off the interstate which gioves you good access to downtown.

Breakfast offerings were typical Hampton style and constantly replenished, cookies were warm and fresh at night.

Room Tip: the hotel is pretty big for a Hampton and does get confusing. ask for a room near an exitway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent among similar category for all accommodations and amenities. Staff was professional and displayed politeness and keen interest in guest service. Parking convenience and security appeared to be above average. The fitness and pool areas were superb. We would have enjoyed much more if we had more time to spend at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First, this was easy to get to, going by way of the bypass, without going through the maze of interstates in the Kansas City downtown area. Second, Olathe is a generally good part of KC. Third, the front desk staff was very helpful in getting us the non-smoking hospitality room for our family of five at a very reasonable AAA rate - one queen in a separate bedroom, two double sofa beds, sink, small fridge on the second floor. They were also very good about extending the checkout time to noon for my tired family. The pool is okay, but the fitness room - though small - was very well maintained (all the equipment worked, with the exception of the safety cord snaps on the treadmills which were broken, but I suspect that happens quite a bit with the diversity of people using treadmills, which is why I tend to use the recumbent bikes). The breakfast was so-so, typical Hampton offering - generous, varied, but bland, but the 24-hour coffee offerings are always welcome. Fourth, the location of this Hampton Inn is probably the best I have every encountered for weary travellers. For food, there is a McDonalds right out the front door connected to the hotel parking lot. Across the street within walking distance (we walked to the late night Old Chicago Pizza restaurant) are a number of quality chain restaurants - Joe's Crab Shack, an Italian restaurant, an Asian fusion, Panda Express, etc. There is even a 66 gas station right outside the door attached to the hotel parking lot! So, once you drive into this Hampton Inn in a town in which you have never been, you don't have to worry about wandering around in your van looking for gas and a selection of places to eat. Great location for the traveller, probably the best I have ever encountered!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Olathe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Olathe

Address: 12081 S. Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Olathe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Olathe
#3 Business Hotel in Olathe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Olathe 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Dining and Entertainment center of Olathe, our property offers it all within walking distance of the Hotel. Whether your here on business or pleasure, you can enjoy eating at some of the best places to dine, shop until you drop with some retail therapy, then come back to the Hotel after a hard day's work to relax and unwind in our whirlpool. Our 24 hour staff is 100% committed in making your visit an enjoyable stay so you'll keep coming back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Olathe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Olathe Hotel Olathe
Olathe Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Olathe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.